Your Librarian
Finding Documents Online
You can find many more sources on your own through a search engine. Follow some of these tips to find more sources:
- Search in the language if you can. While the webpage may be available in English, there is almost always more information in the original language.
- In Google, search the country-level domain using "site:". For example, to search the Russian internet you would search "site:.ru"
- Search using Yandex or another popular search engine from the country.
- In Google, search larger websites for PDFs or other files using "filetype:". For example, to search for PDFs on the Russian government site you would search: "site:government.ru filetype:pdf"
Russian Government Agencies
Laws & Legislation
- Legislation OnlineOnline legislative database maintained by the OSCE.
- EUR-LexEuropean Union Law
- GlobalLexA collection of guides to the law systems in various countries.
- HeinOnline World Constitutions Illustrated This link opens in a new windowContains the current constitution for every country, constitutional histories, texts on constitutional law, links to scholarly articles about constitutional development, and a bibliography of selected constitutional books. Browsable by country or resource.
- HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series and others. Finding Aids and additional features make it easy to pull up a UN Treaty by entering a UNTS Citation, search for a UN Treaty, and link to law review articles that cite a UN Treaty.
United Nations
- Guide to UN DocumentationPublished by the UN's Dag Hammarskjöld Library, this guide provides information on the different types of publications produced by the United Nations as well as sources for these documents.
- United Nations Digital LibraryThe UN Digital Library is a source for UN-related documents, votes, speeches, and public domain publications.
- United Nations Official Document System (ODS)The ODS contains full text documents from the Security Council, General Assembly, Economic and Social Council as well as their subsidiaries, plus administrative issuances and other documents.
- UN Treaty CollectionContains information regarding the activities of the Treaty Section of the United Nations Office of Legal Affairs, including the depositary of treaties and the registration and publication of treaties.
Historical Sources
- История России в Фотографиях (Istoriia Rossii v Fotografiiakh, Russian History in Photographs)Collections of museum, public, and private collections of Russian and Soviet Photographs from the 19th century to 1999.
- Государственная Публичная Историческая Библиотеака России (Gosudarstvennaia Publishnaia Istoricheskaia Biblioteka Rossii, State Public Historical Library of Russia)A collection of digitized documents from the Russian Historical Library.
- Soviet Era Books for Children and YouthThis digital collection represents imprints from the Russian holdings of the Cotsen Children’s Library. All of the selections in this group were produced between 1918 and 1938 and present examples of the visual and verbal idioms artists and authors used to address the country’s children and youth in the first two decades after the October Revolution.
- Мосфильм (Mosfilm)Includes posters and full streaming video of Soviet-era cinema from Mosfilm.
- Project for the Study of Dissidence and SamizdatThe Electronic Archive “Project for the Study of Dissidence and Samizdat” (PSDS) includes the database of Soviet samizdat periodicals, electronic editions of selected samizdat journals, illustrated timelines of dissident movements, and interviews with activists.
- Wilson Center Digital ArchiveThe Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.
- Eurodocs: Online Sources for European HistoryIncludes a directory to online resources for history in Eastern Europe and Russia in English and original languages.
