Your Librarian
Sharon Clayton
She/Her/They
Contact:
Lauinger Library
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
202-687-7467
Get Answers
Physical Property Data
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has the primary responsibility in the federal government for providing reliable scientific and technical reference data and numerical data on physical and chemical properties. This data is critically evaluated at centers located in university, industrial, and other government laboratories as well as within NIST. There will be some overlap of databases in the following links.
- NIST Physics ProgramThe most comprehensive set of reliable physical reference data available anywhere. The NIST collection of atomic energy levels, transition probabilities, and collision data is widely used by groups for characterizing and modeling all types of gaseous systems (including plasmas, planetary atmospheres, and astrophysical media) and for health physics applications.
- NIST Physical Reference Data This link opens in a new windowNational Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST) resource for physics data on the web. Includes data for atomic & molecular spectroscopy, X-ray & gamma-ray physics, condensed matter physics and nuclear physics, and various physical constants.
- Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference DataProvides critically evaluated physical and chemical property data, fully documented as to the original sources and the criteria used for evaluation. Updated daily. Published by the American Institute of Physics for NIST.
- NIST-JANAF Thermochemical TablesSearch by formula, name, or CAS number.
- NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and UncertaintyValues and bibliography of fundamental physical constants. in-depth information on the International System of Units (SI), and guidelines for expressing uncertainty in measurements.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookThe NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST, including IR, UV/Vis, MS spectra, and thermochemical and thermophysical properties information.
- International Critical TablesFeatures physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties of inorganic and organic compounds and pure substances. A major reference source for chemistry, physics, and engineering. Online (click link above) and in print, Science Reference Collection, Q 199 .N32, vols 1-7.
- International Tables for CrystallographyOf interest to all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. Volumes A - D are also available in print in the Blommer Science Library.
Spectroscopy Data
- NIST Chemistry WebBookThe NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST, including IR, UV/Vis, MS spectra, and thermochemical and thermophysical properties information.
- SDBS - Spectral Database System for Organic CompoundsIncludes six different types of spectra under a directory database of the compounds: MS, NMR (two types), ESR, IR, and Raman. Spectra are constructed by direct transfer of the digital data from the spectrometers.
- NMRShift DBIt is a NMR database for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties.
