Your Librarian
Sharon Clayton
She/Her/They
Contact:
Lauinger Library
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
202-687-7467
Get Answers
Find Books
- HoyaSearchUse to search across Georgetown library holdings, the Washington Research Library Consortium, and article sources.
- HoyaSearch - GU BooksCheck for print books and ebooks on your topic at Georgetown by searching in Any field, Author, Title, or Subject search fields. To find books by topic - type in a keyword or phrase (remember to use "is (Exact)" under Advanced Search). To see more on your topic use the Library of Congress Subject Headings link in the book's description.
To request a book that is not available at Georgetown
To request a loan of the book from another library, go to the Can't Find It? page and follow the instructions.
To request that Georgetown purchase the book for the collections, use the Purchase Request Form.
Major Reference Books
AIP Physics Desk Reference by
Originally published by the American Institute of Physics as the Physics Vade Mecum, this third edition has been completely updated to reflect contemporary modern physics. It is a concise compilation of the most frequently used physics data and formulae with their derivations, and this edition contains six new chapters, with outdated chapters dropped, and new chapters added on atmospheric physics, electricity and magnetism, elementary particle physics, fluid dynamics, geophysics, nonlinear physics, particle accelerators, polymer physics, and quantum theory. A new, final chapter deals with practical laboratory data, while the references and bibliographies have been updated. The book should prove a valuable tool for researchers, professionals and students in physics as well as others who use physics data.
ISBN: 9780387989730Publication Date: 2003-01-27
Mathematical Methods for Physicists by
Now in its 7th edition, Mathematical Methods for Physicists continues to provide all the mathematical methods that aspiring scientists and engineers are likely to encounter as students and beginning researchers. This bestselling text provides mathematical relations and their proofs essential to the study of physics and related fields. While retaining the key features of the 6th edition, the new edition provides a more careful balance of explanation, theory, and examples. Taking a problem-solving-skills approach to incorporating theorems with applications, the book's improved focus will help students succeed throughout their academic careers and well into their professions. Some notable enhancements include more refined and focused content in important topics, improved organization, updated notations, extensive explanations and intuitive exercise sets, a wider range of problem solutions, improvement in the placement, and a wider range of difficulty of exercises.
ISBN: 9780123846549Publication Date: 2012-02-18
Twentieth Century Physics by
This is a major historical study of the scientific and cultural development of physics in the 20th century. Its list of contributors includes four Nobel Laureates, 12 Fellows or Foreign Members of the Royal Society, and many other physicists of world renown.
ISBN: 0750303530Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Encyclopedia of Physics by
The editors of this Encyclopedia, earlier editions of which met with international acclaim, have now provided a fully revised, expanded and updated third edition of this comprehensive reference work. In two volumes, 500 experts -- among them several Nobel laureates and numerous other scientific award winners -- offer a comprehensive and topical account of physics and the physical world. The volumes comprise more than 500 articles, which have either been completely updated or are altogether new, covering the latest terminology and techniques in physics, including atomic trapping and cooling, biophotonics, econophysics, the formation of stars and planets, quantum communication, space science and technology, and traffic flow.
ISBN: 9783527405541Publication Date: 2005-10-28
Handbook of Optics, Third Edition Volume I: Geometrical and Physical Optics, Polarized Light, Components and Instruments(set) by
The most comprehensive and up-to-date optics resource available Prepared under the auspices of the Optical Society of America, the five carefully architected and cross-referenced volumes of the Handbook of Optics, Third Edition, contain everything a student, scientist, or engineer requires to actively work in the field. From the design of complex optical systems to world-class research and development methods, this definitive publication provides unparalleled access to the fundamentals of the discipline and its greatest minds. Individual chapters are written by the world's most renowned experts who explain, illustrate, and solve the entire field of optics. Each volume contains a complete chapter listing for the entire Handbook, extensive chapter glossaries, and a wealth of references. This pioneering work offers unprecedented coverage of optics data, techniques, and applications. Volume I covers geometrical and physical optics, polarized light, components, and instruments.
ISBN: 9780071498890Publication Date: 2009-10-13
Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols, and Abbreviations by
With 200,000 entries in over eighty different fields, Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols, and Abbreviations is the most comprehensive reference of its type, covering more scientific and technical disciplines than any other available book. This invaluable resource will help scientists, engineers, and researchers understand and utilize current terminology in almost any field-from aeronautics to zoology. All accepted abbreviations, acronyms, and symbols are included, from the most obscure to the most common, as well as an appendix that provides important lists of units, systems of units, conversion factors, and prefixes. Science writers, journalists, translators, interpreters-anyone working in or around the sciences-will find this a helpful, easy-to-use guide to difficult technical jargon. Entries are listed in alphabetical order and are defined according to the field in which they are currently in use. Multiple definitions are listed for abbreviations and acronyms that may be in use in more than one field. For instance, the entry for the abbreviation "cb" would show several meanings: "CB" for Canada Balsam, "Cb" for cerebellum, and "c-B" for crystalline boron, among others. Entries for terms in languages other than English are included, as well as abbreviations for all known scientific and technical journals. Simple, comprehensive, and up-to-date, Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols, and Abbreviations is a complete and vital reference for professionals in almost any scientific or technical discipline.
ISBN: 9780471388029Publication Date: 2001-03-12
