Your Librarian
Sharon Clayton
She/Her/They
Contact:
Lauinger Library
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
202-687-7467
New Books
Get Answers
All Physics Databases
To view all physics databases, please go to A-Z Databases on the library's website.
Best Bets
- Scitation This link opens in a new windowPublished by American Institute of Physics (AIP), Scitation provides access to articles from leading physical sciences publications including journals, conference proceedings, standards.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Indexes the top articles published in all fields, including Physics. In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it or find related papers that share citations.
- Inspec This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database that provides abstracts and indexing to a wide variety of technical and scientific papers across numerous disciplines including engineering, physics, communications, computing, manufacturing, production, and more. Click any links within this database to access Inspec Analytics.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowIEEE provides access to the physics literature related to electronics and computer technology published by IEEE, including the backfile of publications dating to 1872
- SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)Provides access to a digital library of journal articles, conference proceedings, research data, and books for astronomy and astrophysics.
- Inspire: High Energy Physics DataINSPIRE is a trusted community hub that helps researchers to share and find accurate scholarly information in high energy physics.
Brought to you by CERN, Fermilab, SLAC and others.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowBioPhysics topics, including the use of nanomaterials in medicine, are covered extensively by PubMed. It provides access to the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE and covers biological and physical sciences, allied health, humanities and social sciences as they related to medicine, health, and wellbeing.
What Is a Database?
The Library databases listed here are collections of journal articles searchable by author, title, keywords, subject indexing terms, and sometimes every word in the articles. They may contain or link to the full text of the articles, or they may only contain abstracts of the articles.
TIP: Many times a keyword search will give sufficient results. If not, look at a few relevant article titles, abstracts, and keywords or descriptors. They often suggest other good words to use in your search. Also look for "Find more like this" options in the database (although not all databases offer this).
