Get Answers
HoyaSearch: Find Journals
Dissertations & Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProQuest database providing the electronic equivalent of Dissertation Abstracts International. Beginning with the first U.S. dissertation in 1861, represents the work of authors from North American and European universities on a full range of academic subjects. Indexes and provides access to Georgetown-authored theses and dissertations.
- DigitalGeorgetown Institutional RepositoryProvides access to scholarship from Georgetown's Department of Physics -- including graduate theses and dissertations -- housed in DigitalGeorgetown.
Collections of Physics Journals
- Scitation This link opens in a new windowThe American Institute of Physics (AIP) site for online access to their leading physical sciences publications including journals, conference proceedings, standards, and blogs.
- IOP Journals This link opens in a new windowNote: Access to all content on this platform is incomplete. Please reference HoyaSearch or the Journal Finder for the library's complete holdings.Electronic editions of Institute of Physics journals.
- Physical Review Journals This link opens in a new windowThe journals of the American Physical Society: Physical Review (all sections), Physical Review Letters, and Reviews of Modern Physics.
- PROLA This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of the American Physical Society scholarly journals. Contains all APS journal articles published from 1893 to four years ago. Each January another year is added to the archive.
Preprints
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new windowAn archive for electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, and quantitative finance.
- Mathematical Physics Preprint ArchiveArchive beginning in 1991 of preprints in mathematical physcis, hosted at the University of Texas.
- CERN Document ServerProvides access to records of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. It includes preprints, as well as articles, books, proceedings, lectures, photographs, and more - including the full text of many items.
- International Centre for Theoretical Physics ArchivesProvides access to documents and media that are produced at ICTP, including preprints, lecture notes, annual reports, photos, and more.
Literature Reviews
Review articles are a great way to get an overview of a topic. They generally provide a summary of the state of the science in a research area, and their references provide excellent lists of relevant articles.
- Reports on Progress in PhysicsConsists of lengthy review articles with extensive reference lists. Covers all areas of physics. Published by the Institute of Physics in association with the American Institute of Physics.
- Reviews of Modern PhysicsContains review articles with extensive references covering all aspects of physics.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowNote: Georgetown only subscribes to certain titles in this collection.
Comprehensive and timely critical reviews of the most significant primary research literature. Written by leading scientists, Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited publications in the scientific literature.
Databases and other Information Sources for Physics
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowAccess to nearly one-third of the world's current literature in electrical engineering, electronics and computer science. Full text IEEE and IET Journal, Magazine,
Transaction, Conference Proceedings articles and Active (not Draft) IEEE Standards. Includes full text access to the backfile of IEEE publications dating to 1872.
- Inspire: High Energy Physics DataINSPIRE is a trusted community hub that helps researchers to share and find accurate scholarly information in high energy physics.
Brought to you by CERN, Fermilab, SLAC and others. - Interactions.orgProvides a communication platform for international particle physics laboratories. Includes press releases, articles, news, event listings, and images
- OSP (Open Source Physics)Collects openly available undergraduate physics curricula, focusing on computation and modeling.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowBioPhysics topics, including the use of nanomaterials in medicine, are covered extensively by PubMed. It provides access to the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE and covers biological and physical sciences, allied health, humanities and social sciences as they related to medicine, health, and wellbeing.
- SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)Provides access to a digital library of journal articles, conference proceedings, research data, and books for astronomy and astrophysics.
- SciTech ConnectSearch for U.S. Department of Energy-sponsored technical reports, citations, articles, conference papers, books, and other resources.
- SCOAP3 RepositorySearch for open access articles sponsored by the Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics (SCOAP3). To learn more about this organization, follow this link.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Indexes the top articles published in all fields, including Physics. In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it or find related papers that share citations.
