News & Commentary

How can I access Foreign Affairs?

• Log into foreignaffairs.com through the Library. Authenticate with your NetID (if necessary) and enjoy full access to Foreign Affairs. No signups required (although you may want to sign up for a free account).
• Install Lean Library for automatic Library access. After installation, go to foreignaffairs.com. Lean Library will pop up and give you one-click Library access. (You can also set Lean Library to automatically redirect your visits through the Library.) ProxyGU is another tool that allows you to visit the magazine site and then redirect your visit through the Library's proxy server.

NOTE: Library access is separate from individual accounts. If you have (or make) an individual Foreign Affairs account, this cannot be linked to Georgetown's campus-wide access. The only way to use Georgetown's subscription is to be on the GU network and/or go through the Library's link to Foreign Affairs (above).

How long can I enjoy Georgetown's subscription? Do I need to renew?

If your NetID is current and provides access to Library databases, you'll have access to Foreign Affairs.

• Student access is active until graduation. After graduation you will lose access to Foreign Affairs (and other Library databases). 
• Faculty and staff access automatically renews as long as your employment, or we cancel our campus subscription. 

What if I have an individual subscription to Foreign Affairs? What about app access?

Georgetown access is separate from individual subscriptions. Individual subscribers enjoy features not available through the campus-wide subscription, including subscriber-only newsletters ("The Backstory"), audio versions of articles, and ability to read Foreign Affairs conveniently without going through the Library's proxy server.

Georgetown access does NOT include Foreign Affairs app access. The app requires an individual subscription, and cannot be linked to Georgetown's campus-wide subscription. Georgetown's subscription does not provide any individual accounts for users.

If you have an existing individual subscription to Foreign Affairs, you may wish to retain your individual subscription in order to use these features. 

How do I read older articles, or cross-search Foreign Affairs with other journals or newspapers?

Georgetown's access to Foreign Affairs includes the complete print archive, making it easy to browse issues back to the start of the magazine in 1922. However, if you are searching for a specific article, or for all articles on a person or topic, it can be easier to use a Library database that indexes Foreign Affairs:

Note that Library databases only have articles from the print edition of Foreign Affairs, and don't contain web-only articles from the website.