A web-based archive of archival materials and secondary research, this database presents documents that have previously only been available at the RGASPI archive in Russia. Digital versions of Yale’s Annals of Communism series supplement the RGASPI collection with additional scholarly commentary on selected documents concerning the history of Soviet and international communism from Russian state archives spanning the 75-year history of the USSR.
This guide lists materials in U.S. archives and manuscript repositories that relate to the Russian Empire, Soviet Union, and the many distinct nationalities therein. The materials described in the guide are extremely diverse in character. They cover the broadest possible range of subjects: political, historical, social, economic, diplomatic, artistic, literary, religious, military, musical, and other matters. The combined subject and name index at the end of the volume is the key to locating desired materials in the approximately 650 different entries.
Descriptions of the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History's (RGASPI) collections on Communist Party leadership (1919-1932), Archives of the Komintern, the Stalin Archive and World War II archive. Some of the material is digitally available through the Stalin Digital Archive.
Information from and about official archives in Russia.
Library of Congress's European Division
TheEuropean Division Reading Room (LJ-250) is the primary gateway relating to European countries, from Western Europe to Central and Eastern Europe, and from the Baltics to the Balkans. It also includes the Russian-speaking areas of Asia, but not Spain, Portugal, the United Kingdom, and Ireland. The Reading Room has current, unbound Slavic and Baltic periodicals, as well as collections of pamphlets and "gray literature."
Provides access to post- World War II papers from the CIA, the FBI and many other agencies, which have been gathered from presidential libraries. Major domestic and international events of the post-World War II world are covered, including the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, and the civil rights movement. Documents display in a digital facsimile format or ASCII text.
This exciting new resource contains Soviet created topographic maps covering 27 cities of interest in Eastern Europe, Russia, and former Soviet Union countries. They are a combination of topographic city plans at 1:10,000/1:25,000 scale, and topographic maps at 1:50,000 scale. The maps were all published between 1965 and 1991 by Voenno-topograficheskoe upravlenie General'nogo shtaba.
Digital reproductions of every page of significant English- and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas and elsewhere. Searches the full text of books, pamphlets, essays, and other non-periodical materials including the complete works of major 18th-century writers.
Covers the fields of history, literature, language, religion, social sciences, philosophy, law, geography, fine arts, science, and medicine. Cross-searchable with Early English Books Online (EEBO).
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century, NCCO will be comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location. Collections now available are Asia and the West; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music and Literature: High & Popular Culture; and European Literature, 1790-1840.
Consists of several databases:Pravda Digital Archive (complete archive); Izvestiia Digital Archive (complete from 1917); Current Digest of the [Soviet and] Post-Soviet Press (complete archive); CIS & Baltic Periodicals; Russian Central Newspapers; Social Sciences & Humanities [periodicals]; individual titles (Far Eastern Affairs, International Affairs, Social Sciences, Voprosy Literatury); 2010 Presidential Election in Belarus, and Russian/NIS Newswires. The sources are in Russian and in English.
UNESCO's World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
The principal objectives of the WDL are to:
1. Promote international and intercultural understanding;
2. Expand the volume and variety of cultural content on the Internet;
3. Provide resources for educators, scholars, and general audiences;
4. Build capacity in partner institutions to narrow the digital divide within and between countries.