Guides: Data Services for MSB: Demographics & GIS

US Demographic Data

Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Data from the U.S. Census Bureau, including the Census of Population and Housing, the Economic Census, and the American Community Survey.
Population topics include aging, disability, education, gender, employment, origins and languages, poverty, race and ethnicity, relationships, transportation and veterans. Housing information includes physical and financial characteristics. The Economic Census includes statistics on business and industry, foreign trade and government.

Consumer Expenditure Survey
Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide
Rand McNally's annual atlas with statistics identifies population size, population trends, hospitals, schools, prisons, and basic business data for counties. 1998-
more...less...
Current in Reference Atlas Case G1019.R22. Older editions in Lauinger flat folio cases

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
For more information contact Mara Rojeski at 202 687-2822. The ArcView Geographic Information System (GIS) is a powerful desktop mapping software program for managing information and data of any kind based on location. This decision-making tool allows users to visualize information and data in new ways to reveal relationships, patterns and trends, and to create customized maps based on that analysis.
more...less...
Users can supply their own data, make use of datasets available in the Gelardin New Media Center, or utilize data that accompany the ArcView software. Gelardin has two work stations with ArcView GIS software installed and a color printer for printing maps. ArcView GIS software may also be borrowed from the Government Documents Department for installation on any Georgetown University-owned computer.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Users can create a free account in order to save, share, and collaborate on maps and projects. In addition to its comprehensive data resources, Social Explorer offers features and tools to meet the needs of demography experts and novices alike. From research libraries to classrooms to government agencies to corporations to the front page of the New York Times, Social Explorer helps the public engage with society and science.
Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive This link opens in a new window
The Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive is a longitudinal national data series and provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to 2012 for all countries with many variables of use to the social scientist researcher. General categories include demographic, social, political, and economic topics.

Lifestyle Market Analyst
US Demographic and geographic data, including lifestyle information on interests, hobbies, and activities. 1998-2008
more...less...
Lauinger Stacks HF 5415.3 .U6 L54

Passport This link opens in a new window
formerly Global Market Information Database
Global in scope, Euromonitor's Passport provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts. Details include expenditure patterns, viewing time per medium and demographics. Use the search box in the upper left corner to find an industry.