Guides: Data Services for MSB: Finance

Sortable Databases

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text information on U.S. and non-U.S. companies. Includes company history, officers, subsidiaries, financial data, and annual reports. Access to SEC filings (EDGAR) back to 1993. Also includes Company Archives for historical information and US and International Industry Reports. Provides up to 30 years of historical daily international stock pricing, downloadable to Excel. Available to Georgetown alumni.
Forthcoming: Mergent Intellect
Covers over 80 million private and public companies worldwide. Corporate family tree and coverage of millions of executives.

Mutual Funds

Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Covers stocks, mutual funds (open-end), and exchange traded funds (closed-end). Database can be searched by name, security, or fund or stock screeners. Additional features include analyst reports for stocks and funds and Portfolio X-Ray to review allocations across many different funds.

Investment Company Fact Book
Contains an overview of what a mutual fund is, the trends, and the various mutual fund investment objectives. The statistics section includes fund assets, sales, and portfolio purchases. 1968-present in the stacks.
more...less...
1968-present in the Lauinger stacks HG 4530 .I518.

Commodities Data

Markets Data Center
Provided by the Wall Street Journal, this website provides current day data on US stocks, international markets, ETFs, mutual funds, bonds, credit markets, commodities, futures, currencies, and earnings.

International Financial Statistics - Online This link opens in a new window
This International Monetary Fund source provides current and historical financial information on member countries. Once in the landing page, change time period, then click on "Commodity Prices". 1945- Tutorial from UIUC: http://cooper.library.uiuc.edu/bel/classes/ifs/index.phtml

FAOStat Agriculture Data
provides time-series and cross sectional data from over 210 countries and territories covering statistics on agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food aid, land use and population. 1961-

Corporate Bonds

BondViewer This link opens in a new window
Mergent's BondViewer contains information for corporate and municipal fixed income data for active and inactive issues. From pre-sale through defeasance, BondViewer provides on-demand access to a wide-range of bond data including both issuer and bond level terms and condition data, US taxable bonds, municipal bonds and retail notes. To find international government bond data use Corporate selection

Using Bloomberg
Government, Corporate and Municipal Bond Search
Use this general bond market screener for U.S. Treasury, Agency, Corporate and Municipal Bonds: price information with real-time transaction prices. Searching criteria: symbol, maturity, yield, current price, coupon rate, type, rating, interest payments, callable, and putable.
Mergent News Reports
Current week's issues of stock and bonds. Quarterly financials also issued.

S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
For interest rates, chose "Markets"

Government Bonds

Electronic Municipal Market Access (EMMA)
Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board (MSRB)'s EMMA is a website that provides free public access to objective municipal market information and interactive tools
more...less...
Information about Specific Municipal Securities
Official statements (the prospectus for a municipal bond)
Trade prices, yields and other data about a bond’s trading history
Financial disclosure documents from the issuer of the bond
Other ongoing disclosure documents about events affecting the bond
Information about 529 savings plans and ABLE programs
Market-Wide Information
Yield curves and indices from third-party providers
Calendar of municipal securities scheduled to be offered
Calendar of upcoming economic reports and events that may have an impact on the municipal bond market
Market statistics about overall trading patterns and most active securities
TreasuryDirect
"TreasuryDirect is the first and only financial services website that lets you buy and redeem securities directly from the U.S. Department of the Treasury in paperless electronic form."
Monthly Statement of the Public Debt (MSPD)
Data for bills, notes, and other federal securities. It includes description of security, issue date, amount, and day of maturity.
Mergent News Reports
Current week's issues of stock and bonds. Quarterly financials also issued.
Equity-gilt study
Provids data, analysis, and commentary on long-term asset returns for stocks and fixed-income in the UK and US for government and corporate debt.
more...less...
Reference stacks HG5432 .E68 1989

Data Services for MSB

Stock Market Data

Bankruptcies

Sortable Databases

Mutual Funds

Commodities Data

Corporate Bonds

Government Bonds