Guides: Text and Data Mining Databases: EEBO/ECCO/Evans

EEBO/ECCO/Evans

Summary:

The Text Creation Partnership provides full-text transcriptions of early print books from the following collections:

Early English Books Online (general access through ProQuest)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (general access through Gale)
Early American Imprints: Evans, 1639-1800 (general access through Readex)

Access to each corpus is independent of the web-based search systems generally available to Georgetown University users to browse each collection. Visit the Text Creation Partnership website for more information about each corpus and access methods.

Any text mining of these collections should be carried out through the Text Creation Partnership, not by scraping the individual databases on the ProQuest, Gale, or Readex platforms.

Quick Info:

Coverage	full collections, regardless of Georgetown University license
Registration required?	No
API available?	No
Publication restrictions?	No
Library permission required?	No

Publisher Resources:

Text Creation Partnership

Library Resources Covered:

Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of every page of significant English- and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas and elsewhere. Searches the full text of books, pamphlets, essays, and other non-periodical materials including the complete works of major 18th-century writers.
Covers the fields of history, literature, language, religion, social sciences, philosophy, law, geography, fine arts, science, and medicine. Cross-searchable with Early English Books Online (EEBO).
Early American Imprints (Series I): Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Based on the Evans American Bibliography, this collection contains the full text of all known existing books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in the United States or in the British American colonies from 1639 through 1800. It provides a foundation for research in early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, politics and nearly every aspect of life in early America.
When completed, the digital collection will include every item previously published in microform by Readex, plus more than 1,200 additional works located, catalogued and digitized since the microform effort was completed -- more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.