Skip to Main Content

Maryland Province Archives

This is a guide to using the Maryland Province Archives (MPA), held at the Booth Family Center for Special Collections.

Searching the MPA

Online Finding Aid and Digitized Materials

The Maryland Province Archives is not yet fully available online, though library staff are busy reorganizing and digitizing the collection.  Please note, however, that many of the key documents relating to slavery and the 1838 sale have been digitized and are available online through the Georgetown Slavery Archive, run by Dr. Adam Rothman of the university's History Department.  All other materials must be viewed in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections, in consultation with Booth staff.

Before your visit, please review our online finding aid to locate material relevant to your interests.  This finding aid describes materials in the collection and provides date ranges and references to people and subjects that the materials document.  Once you locate an item, please make note of its box and folder number so that you may contact staff and request the item.

The MPA finding aid is most easily searchable by keyword, using the search bar on the right side of the main finding aid page (pictured below).  Staff are available to assist researchers in navigating the finding aid.

 

Searching the Finding Aid

 

A note about collection use:  Lauinger staff are currently digitizing the Maryland Province Archives, and have recently completed a new finding aid (linked above).  Updates on this process may be found here.  Please also note that because of this work, some portions of the collection may be temporarily unavailable.  Researchers are encouraged to contact staff well in advance of their visit to ensure the availability of materials.

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy