This guide orients researchers to the Archives of the Maryland Province of the Society Jesus, more commonly referred to as the Maryland Province Archives, or simply the MPA. This collection, which has been on deposit at Georgetown University since the 1970s, documents the Jesuit presence in North America from the 17th through 20th centuries.
The MPA is available for use by appointment at the Booth Family Center for Special Collections on the 5th floor of Georgetown's Lauinger Library. The Booth Family Center is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Reference inquiries may be made by telephone (202-687-1312) or via our email form.
The MPA is open for use by all Georgetown students, faculty, and staff as well as independent researchers who are unaffiliated with Georgetown. Those completing genealogical research - especially in relation to the "GU 272" - are also encouraged to use the collection.
Image: Map of Maryland Jesuit Stations. Thomas Hughes, History of the Society of Jesus in North America, Vol. 2 (New York: Longmans, Green, & Company, 1917).
A note about collection use: Lauinger staff are currently digitizing the Maryland Province Archives, and have recently completed a new finding aid (linked above). Updates on this process may be found here. Please also note that because of this work, some portions of the collection may be temporarily unavailable. Researchers are encouraged to contact staff well in advance of their visit to ensure the availability of materials.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy