Your Librarian
Welcome!
Welcome to the English Literatures research guide. This guide is intended to highlight major resources that Georgetown provides to support research and teaching in English-language literatures. Use the menu to the left to view specific types of resources.
If you have any questions or need assistance with your research, please e-mail the English & Humanities Librarian at melissa.jones@georgetown.edu.
Getting Started
The following resources are recommended for starting your English-language literatures research. Additional resources are available through the left-hand menu.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
- ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) This link opens in a new windowABELL is part of the Literature Online (LION) database and covers all aspects and periods of English-language literature, linguistics, folklore, drama, and cultural studies. Indexes literary criticism, book reviews, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published worldwide. Includes material in languages other than English. ABELL is linked to 325+ full text journals in the LION database.
- JSTOR Lives of Literature This link opens in a new windowThis growing collection of journals provides additional resources for the study of literary movements, texts, and authors. Spanning medieval literature through contemporary works, Lives of Literature adds and extends our existing JSTOR holdings in language and literature. The collection can be browsed by journal title or searched from the main JSTOR search portal.
Generative AI Tools
For information on using generative AI resources like ChatGPT and Elicit in your research, visit our Research Guide for tips on crafting prompts, citing AI tools, and using AI tools ethically.
