Dictionaries & Thesauri
Use dictionaries to find definitions and the histories of words. Use thesauri to find synonyms and antonyms.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new windowJuly 2023: Off-campus access to the OED is not working in certain browsers. More info.
The largest dictionary and the most complete historical record of the English language. Use for:
--How a word was used in a specific time period
--When a word or phrase (e.g., fagged out) was first used
--Where words come from (etymology)
--Sample quotations using a particular word - Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new windowA record of American regional words, phrases, and pronunciations, based on a survey of 3,000 people in communities across the United States. Includes audio recordings, interactive maps, and insights into the DARE Survey.
- Oxford English DictionaryLAU REF Stacks PE1625 .O87 1989 v. 1-20
- Historical Thesaurus of the Oxford English DictionaryLAU Ref Stacks PE1591 .H55 2009 v. 1-2
- Dictionary of American Regional EnglishLAU Ref Stacks PE2843 .D52 1985
Biographies
Biographies provide detailed information about an author's life and often situate an author's works within the context of their life. You can also search HoyaSearch to find book-length biographies.
- American National BiographyLAU Ref Stacks CT213 .A68 1999
Provides biographical essays for more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the United States.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) This link opens in a new windowAn illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001. Excludes living persons.
- Dictionary of National BiographyLAU Stacks DA28 .O95 2004
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text literary content for researching authors and their works, literary movements, and genres. Search to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews. Includes the Literature Resource Center and Scribner Writers.
- Literature Resource Center (LRC) This link opens in a new windowFull-text biographical, bibliographical, and critical analysis of world authors and works in all literary genres. Includes the text of the Dictionary of Literary Biography and Contemporary Authors.
Literary Terms and Theory Sources
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new windowAlphabetically arranged entries on literary critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, the contributions of specific countries and historical periods, and nonliterary fields of inquiry shaped by literary theory and criticism. Entries consist of a critical essay addressing the subject's historical and philosophical importance and a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowThis scholarly, full-text encyclopedia is being developed by Stanford University. High standards of quality and authority: sophisticated, easy-to-use interface. Brief definitions are followed by deep analysis. Aimed at undergraduates through professionals.
A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary TheoryCall Number: Available Online and Lauinger Stacks PN41 .C83 2013
Key Terms in Literary TheoryCall Number: Available Online
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary TermsCall Number: Available Online and Lauinger Stacks PN41 .C67 2015
- The Oregon State Guide to English Literary TermsA free, online, creative commons (CC BY) resource that offers short lessons about literary terms to help individuals engage with difficult literary texts.
Literary Histories
- Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new windowThis unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Providing full-text access for all collection content published up to the year 2015, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.
Research Guides
Research guides are designed to direct you to other information sources in a particular field.
- Literary Research Strategies & Sources seriesFrom Scarecrow Press, the Literary Research series surveys literary periods across American, British, and world literatures in English. Specific guides are also listed on the research "by period" pages linked above.
Using Reference Sources
This page is designed to direct you to some of the major reference sources for literary studies. If you need period- or genre-specific sources, see subject guides to particular periods and genres.
If you need to use a new reference source, keep the following tips in mind:
1. Read the introduction of the book to find what information is contained in the book, how the information is organized, and how best to use it.
2. Use the indexes and table of contents to help you quickly locate relevant information.
3. If you find a citation to a journal article, use Journal Finder to determine whether Georgetown subscribes to the journal.
4. If you find a citation to a book, use HoyaSearch to determine whether Georgetown or a Consortium library owns the book.
5. If the book or journal isn't available at Georgetown or in the Consortium, you may request it from another library using Interlibrary Loan.
