Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
ABELL is part of the Literature Online (LION) database and covers all aspects and periods of English-language literature, linguistics, folklore, drama, and cultural studies. Indexes literary criticism, book reviews, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published worldwide. Includes material in languages other than English. ABELL is linked to 325+ full text journals in the LION database.
This growing collection of journals provides additional resources for the study of literary movements, texts, and authors. Spanning medieval literature through contemporary works, Lives of Literature adds and extends our existing JSTOR holdings in language and literature. The collection can be browsed by journal title or searched from the main JSTOR search portal.
Provides full-text literary content for researching authors and their works, literary movements, and genres. Search to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews. Includes the Literature Resource Center and Scribner Writers.
Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 full-text works of English and American poetry, drama, and fiction with complementary criticism, reference resources, and websites. Includes over 800 clips of poets reading their own and other poets' work.
Allows you to:
--search both the MLA International Bibliography and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, with links to full-text articles from over 200 literature journals.
--find a list of works by or about a particular author
--search simultaneously across primary works and secondary sources
--access 1,550 author biographies
Includes full-text databases such as African-American Poetry, Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Early English Prose Fiction, Eighteenth-Century Fiction, English Drama, English Poetry.
Includes reference sources such as The Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English, Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism, Encyclopedia of the Novel, New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature, the King James Bible, and Webster's Third New International Dictionary.
Full-text biographical, bibliographical, and critical analysis of more than 100,000 world authors and works throughout history and across all literary genres (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, and journalism). Enables you to search by literary movement (e.g., Harlem Renaissance), gender, or author ethnicity (e.g., African American).
Electronic version of such older print reference sources as:
Contemporary Literary Criticism: Ref. PN 771 .C59
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism: Ref. PN 761 .N56
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism: Ref. PN 771 .G27
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism: Ref. PN 610 .C53
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800: Ref. PN 86 .L53 1984
Shakespearean Criticism: Ref. PR 2965 .S43 1984
Poetry Criticism: Ref. PN 1010 .P499
Short Story Criticism: Ref. PN 3373 .S386
Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature: Ref. PN 41 .M42 1995
Scribner Writers Series
Twayne Authors Series
Covers all aspects of British studies from 1830 to 1914. Indexes books and book chapters, dissertation abstracts, and articles from journals published in 1945 and after.
In addition to literature, topics covered include painting, architecture, and music; philosophy and religion; history of England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, and the British colonial empire; military and naval history; politics, commerce, and economics; sociology, women's studies, law, and education; and science, technology, and medicine. Victorian Database Online is part of LITIR's Victorian Studies on the Web, which, in addition to the database, provides links to recent and award-winning publications and to notable Victorian Web sites.
Annotated entries for articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.
The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 92 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia."
Also includes reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings. See the Johns Hopkins University Press guide to searching the World Shakespeare Bibliography Online at http://www.shakespeareans.org/pdfs/EWS_Online_Ref.pdf .
Location: Includes and expands upon the annual issue of Shakespeare Quarterly entitled World Shakespeare Bibliography.
Annual narrative bibliographical review of scholarly work in the field of critical and cultural theory, recording significant debates and issues of interest in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage expands as the field does, with the range and scope now including chapters on film studies and queer theory/culture. Indexed by critic, author, and subject.
Annual narrative bibliographical review of scholarly work in language and literary studies, from Old English to contemporary critical works. Covers English Language, American Literature, and literatures in English. Indexed by critic, author, and subject.
Primary index to research in American and Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Limit by language, time period, and document type (articles, collections of articles, books, and dissertations).
Primary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
Indexes book reviews and articles from English-language periodicals, including scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields (including sciences into the 1950s), represented in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. For articles published after 1984, use Humanities Full Text.
Indexes the major scholarly English-language journals in the humanities (including history and literature). For articles published before 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields.
Citations to international scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on language and linguistics, speech, and communication. Particularly strong in applied and descriptive linguistics and psycholinguistics.
Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Searching MLAIB
The following links will take you to video tutorials on searching the MLA International Bibliography.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy