Advanced Searching
Boolean always use capitals:
AND - Ukraine AND ports
OR- port OR harbor
Truncation- Not needed with our search engine because it automatically returns all the words with the same root and spelling variants.
NEAR- Ukraine NEAR/5 ports
Note: Unfortunately, Proximity search NEAR cannot be used in the same search as Boolean operators AND, OR, and AND NOT.
Proximity
N/# leader* N/5 wom?n Leader(truncated) NEAR 5 words of women or woman
P/# general p/2 dunwoody General 2 words BEFORE dunwoody, so you would get General Dunwoody or General Ann Dunwoody
Proximity
N# leader* N5 wom?n Leader(truncated) NEAR 5 words of women or woman
W# general W2 dunwoody General 2 words BEFORE dunwoody, in the order which you entered then
Proximity
near# – leader* near3 wom?n Leader(truncated) NEAR 3 words of women or woman (in any order)
w/# - President w/3 Biden president within 3 words of Biden (President has to be before Biden)
Proximity
ADJ# leader* ADJ5 (female or women or woman) Leader(truncated) NEAR 5 words of female or women or woman
Proximity
w/# leader! w/5 wom?n Leader(truncated) within 5 words of women or woman
P/# general p/2 dunwoody General 2 words BEFORE dunwoody, so you would get General Dunwoody or General Ann Dunwoody
Business Information Consultant (BIC)
202 687-7495
Advice
You are being judged on how you use information, not how to find it. Jennifer is here to help you save time and money.
We have over 900 tuition-sponsored databases. If you can't find what you are looking for in 10 minutes, please ask
Core Business Articles
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowLimited to 5 concurrent users.
Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data. - ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
- Company Dossier (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowDossier links are within "Dossier" content box on "Companies" page.
LexisNexis Company Dossier covers more than 35 million global companies, both public and private. Under Reference link, information comes from Hoover's, Disclosure, Datamonitor, Extel, Vickers, and SGA Executive Tracker.
Other Business Articles
- Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of contemporary business, including accounting, taxation, foreign trade, advertising, banking, public relations, government regulations, real estate, acquisitions and mergers, insurance, communications, management, marketing, entertainment, healthcare, hospitality, tourism, oil and computers.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowEastern edition; New York. The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Updated daily.
- Emerald Intelligence + Fulltext This link opens in a new windowThis source has over 130 full-text journals published by MCB University Press. Subjects include: general management, human resources, information management, library & information services, marketing, property, engineering, quality, training & education, operations, production & economics. Most of the journals have an international perspective.
- Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new windowTo search only the Management & Organization Studies collection, go to "Search Within," select "Search from a list of disciplines" and select "Management & Organization Studies" from the 'Social Sciences & Humanities" section.
Peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of management and organizations.
Recommended Reading
- Foreign Policy This link opens in a new windowForeign Policy is an American news publication, founded in 1970 and focused on global affairs, current events, and domestic and international policy. Access includes an online repository of all current and previously published Foreign Policy digital data, access to the complete digital print archive, topical and regional newsletters, podcasts, live interviews, and FP Insider.
AMA Dictionary of Business and Management
Warning
If you are doing research for your job rather than for your program, it will be tempting to take the reports and articles you find in library-subscribed databases and pass them on. However, this violates our agreements with vendors. You may use the information you find in these resources for the purpose of YOUR educational studies only. If the company you are working for wants to read or take action on the information from these sources, they will have to purchase copies themselves.
