Guides: MIBP 880: Social Action Project: Industry Reports

Overviews

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld publishes many other reports that are not part of the Library's subscription. For more information, please Ask A Librarian.
Industry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
- US Industry Reports (NAICS)
- US Industry iExpert Summaries
- Australia Specialized Industry Reports
- Business Environment Profiles
- Specialized Industry Collection
- State Industry Reports
- State Economic Profiles
Investext Full from Mergent This link opens in a new window
Investext from Mergent is a database of research reports by brokerage firms and analysts. The resource provides access to research reports on 42,000 global companies and 125 industries. Reports are embargoed for 14 days after publication.

Standard & Poor's Industry Survey
The Industry Surveys are the best place to start your industry research. Basic global analysis and overview of major industries with many subject breakdowns within each industry. Statistical information includes sales, profit margin, P/E ratios, and capital expenditures. Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage also provides additional company and industry information.
For industry covered click on the blue icon beside the title.
more...less...
Advertising, Aerospace & Defense, Agribusiness, Airlines, Alcoholic Beverages & Tobacco, Apparel & Footwear: Retailers & Brands, Autos & Auto Parts, Banking, Biotechnology, Broadcasting, Cable & Satellite, Chemicals, Chemicals: Specialty, Communications Equipment, Computers: Commercial Services, Computers: Consumer Services & the Internet, Computers: Hardware,
Computers: Networking, Computers: Software, Computers: Storage & Peripherals, Electric Utilities, Environmental & Waste Management, Financial Services: Diversified, Foods & Nonalcoholic Beverages, Healthcare: Facilities, Healthcare: Managed Care, Healthcare: Pharmaceuticals, Healthcare: Products & Supplies, Heavy Equipment & Trucks, Homebuilding, Household Durables, Household Nondurables, Industrial Machinery, Insurance: Life & Health, Insurance: Property-Casualty, Investment Services,
Lodging & Gaming, Metals: Industrial, Metals: Precious, Movies & Home Entertainment, Natural Gas: Distribution, Oil & Gas: Equipment & Services, Oil & Gas: Production & Marketing, Paper & Forest Products, Publishing & Advertising, Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITS), Restaurants, Retailing: General, Retailing: Specialty, Savings & Loans, Semiconductor Equipment, Semiconductors, Supermarkets & Drugstores, Telecommunications: Wireless, Telecommunications: Wireline, and Transportation: Commercial industries.
Industry Snapshots
"Key Economic Census data for all industries and geographic areas are available in a consolidated file."

Issues to remember while searching for industry information:

# Industries dominated by publicly-traded companies will have more coverage in the press.
# If you can't find industry specific trends, factors effecting the industry's leaders, suppliers, and customers will be part of the industry trends.
# Industries that are regulated will have government sources and will be influenced by government actions.
# Know where the product or company falls on the value chain. You might have to search around it.
# When you have geographic dimensions to an industry or company, it will be harder to find information. Search in the foreign language sources (like Factiva or Lexis/Nexis or Press Display)
# Don't be afraid to use the telephone or email to talk to industry leaders or associations.