Your Librarian
Sharon Clayton
She/Her/They
Contact:
Lauinger Library
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
202-687-7467
Get Answers
Key Databases
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive coverage on environment-related subjects, from ecosystem ecology and renewable energy sources to environmental law and public policy. Contains full text for 950 journals, including many of the most used in the discipline, such as Environment, Ecologist, or Conservation Biology.
- ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new windowEncompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. Provides access to journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters. Formerly LexisNexis Environmental and ProQuest Environment Abstracts.
- Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new windowEnvironmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. This mixed media collection spans over 173 hours of video and 132,000 pages of digital material.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowFocuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Includes citations to scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Some full text documents are included.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCumulates five databases:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it. - JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new windowJSTOR Sustainability brings together 150 journals and 5,000 research reports on the environment, energy, ecology, urban planning, infrastructure, land management, and more. The collection can be searched on its own or through the JSTOR general portal.
- ECOLEXA database on environmental law: includes information on treaties, international law, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowA subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowConference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.
Web Resources
- U.S. Global Change Research Program (GlobalChange.gov)USGCRP conducts state-of-the-art research to understand the interactive processes that influence the total Earth system, which includes the atmosphere, oceans, land, ice, ecosystems, and people. Use their website to explore reports, data, multimedia, and other information by region, state, theme, and other facets.
- National Climate Assessment 2014USGCRP conducts a comprehensive national climate assessment every four years, the most recent of which was released in May 2014. Access the full NCA report as a downloadable PDF or a dynamic online version.
- Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)IPCC is the leading international body for the assessment of climate change. IPCC prepares comprehensive assessment reports about the state of scientific, technical and socioeconomic knowledge on climate change, its causes, potential impacts, and response strategies. The most recent assessment report (AR5) was released in four parts between September 2013 and November 2014. AR6 is anticipated in 2022.
- Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Fifth Assessment Report (AR5)Landmark IPCC report on the current state of scientific knowledge relevant to climate change, providing "rigorous and balanced scientific information to decision makers. By endorsing the IPCC reports, governments acknowledge the authority of their scientific content. The work of the organization is therefore policy-relevant and yet policy-neutral, never policy-prescriptive.” Earlier reports (AR1-AR4) were issued in 1990, 1995, 2001, and 2007.
- U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Climate.govNOAA provides timely and accurate information and data about climate. On this site, find reports, maps, data, tools multimedia, and other resources designed to support informed decisions about climate risks, vulnerability, and resilience.
- NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information ReportsAccess NOAA climate monitoring reports online. For example, the State of the Climate is a collection of monthly summaries recapping climate-related occurrences on both a global and national scale.
- Climate Change at the National AcademiesThis website provides access to reports and convening activities of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine related to climate change. Research encompasses the natural sciences, social sciences, health sciences, transportation, and the international realm in an effort to support policy- and decision-making by answering specific questions through rigorous, independent, and evidence-based processes.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Climate Change Website (Historical)Although EPA no longer maintains its climate change guide, a static snapshot as it existed on 1/19/2017 is still available. It remains a quality resource for basic science information on climate change impacts, but some links may no longer work.
- Climate CentralAccess the research of an independent organization of scientists and journalists reporting on climate change and its impact on the public.
- Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES)Formerly the Pew Center on Global Climate Change, C2ES is an influential nonprofit, nonpartisan organization working on practical solutions to climate change. Access their publications on climate science, policy, energy, technology, and sustainable business.
