Kim MacVaugh
Business Information Consultant (BIC)
Jennifer Boettcher
Her/She
Contact:
202 687-7495 Website Skype Contact: gu.buslib
Office Hours: by appointment and every Mon-Fri on Chat
202 687-7495
Core Business Articles
- ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowLimited to 5 concurrent users.
Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
Core International Policy Sources
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowPolicy Commons is a one-stop community platform for research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. This growing database is the world’s largest directory of policy organizations representing nearly 24,000 organizations and over 3 million publications.
- ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowConference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.
Recommended Reading
- New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new windowRegistration required: follow the instructions on our New York Times guide and complete registration before accessing.
Provides unlimited access to New York Times content from 1981-present on nytimes.com. Includes access to the New York Times mobile app. - Washington Post (washingtonpost.com) This link opens in a new windowDirect access to washingtonpost.com for GU students, faculty, and staff. More information in the News Research Guide.
International Marketing Research Reports
- Passport This link opens in a new windowformerly Global Market Information DatabaseGlobal in scope, Euromonitor's Passport provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts. Details include expenditure patterns, viewing time per medium and demographics. Use the search box in the upper left corner to find an industry.
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowUsers must create a free Mintel account in order to download executive summaries create custom PowerPoint slides of report content.These market research reports of 100+ pages in length cover such subjects as travel, finance, food, drink, health, retailing, airlines, and lifestyles. Reports cover the United States - reports on internationally-focused reports are not available. Data sources used come from Mintel's own surveys, Simmons, Infoscan's IRI, and trade research. Acceptance of 'Academic Conditions of Use' and registration are required to use this database.
- TrendwatchingNetherlands Marketing company that uses 8,000+ trend spotters scan the globe for emerging consumer trends. Resulting in free Trends Briefing monthly. Briefings are varied in scope and illustrated with photos of relevant examples. There is a also a index that goes back to 2008. Signing up the Trends Briefing is free, other materials from this website are fee-based.
AMA Dictionary of Business and Management
Advice
You are being judged on how you use information, not how to find it. Jennifer or Kim is here to help you save time and money.
We have over 500 tuition-sponsored databases. If you can't find what you are looking for in 10 minutes, please ask
Warning
If you are doing research for your job rather than for your program, it will be tempting to take the reports and articles you find in library-subscribed databases and pass them on. However, this violates our agreements with vendors. You may use the information you find in these resources for the purpose of YOUR educational studies only. If the company you are working for wants to read or take action on the information from these sources, they will have to purchase copies themselves.
