Librarian
Getting Started
Passion, Patience, Perseverance
Research requires all of these qualities. First be sure that you like your topic! Next be prepared to meet the challenges of research which often involve careful planning, searching, and time. Don't be discouraged when a course of action fails to produce results. Try something else and always feel free to ask questions and seek help from your teachers, archivists and librarians.
Note: If you are in another LibGuide, click on this link for the complete Archival Research Guide.
- Primary Source Research GuidelinesSelecting a primary source item for research; and identifying a research topic.
Using Archives
- Guide to Using ArchivesIntroduction to using archives for research. Published by the Society of American Archivists.
Working in the Archives by Call Number: PE1405.U6 W67 2010ISBN: 9780809329502Publication Date: 2009-12-14
Recommended article: "Archival Survival: Navigating Archival Research," by Lynee Lewis Gaillet (in Working in Archives referenced above).
How to Do Research with Primary Sources
- DoHistory.orgProvides toolkits and suggestions for getting started on archival research.
- HistoryMatters: Making Sense of EvidenceExcellent series of guides on how to look at historical documents and artifacts including letters, diaries, photographs, maps, abolitionist speeches, and more.
Using Finding Aids to Access Archival Collections
- What is a Finding Aid?Finding aids serve as a key guide by providing information about the arrangement and contents of collections. Most archival repositories offer finding aids on line. Looking at finding aids on the repository website is often a good first step in identifying collections for research.
- How to Read a Finding AidStep by step guide to interpreting a finding aid. Also provides definitions of archives and special collections.
- Finding Aids @ Digital GeorgetownTo access online finding aids for manuscript collections at the Booth Family Center for Special Collections, enter here.
