Biblical & Scriptural Studies

"Now thoroughly revised, this five-volume edition provides up-to-date entries based on the latest scholarship. Full-color pictures supplement the text, which includes new articles in addition to thorough updates and improvements of existing topics. Different viewpoints of scholarship permit a well-rounded perspective on issues relating to doctrines, themes, and biblical interpretation. Includes more than 5,000 pages of vital information on Bible lands and people, more than 7,500 articles alphabetically arranged for easy reference; hundreds of full-color and black-and-white illustrations, charts, and graphs; 32 pages of full-color maps and hundreds of black-and-white outline maps for ready reference; and scholarly articles ranging across the entire spectrum of theological and biblical topics."--Publisher's information."Now thoroughly revised, this five-volume edition provides up-to-date entries based on the latest scholarship. Full-color pictures supplement the text, which includes new articles in addition to thorough updates and improvements of existing topics. Different viewpoints of scholarship permit a well-rounded perspective on issues relating to doctrines, themes, and biblical interpretation. Includes more than 5,000 pages of vital information on Bible lands and people, more than 7,500 articles alphabetically arranged for easy reference; hundreds of full-color and black-and-white illustrations, charts, and graphs; 32 pages of full-color maps and hundreds of black-and-white outline maps for ready reference; and scholarly articles ranging across the entire spectrum of theological and biblical topics."--Publisher's information.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology (OEBT) is a new encyclopedic treatment of major theological issues and themes in the Bible that surpasses all similar reference works in scope and significance. Leading scholars provide extensive overviews of key topics, offering analyses ofthe trajectory and reception history of theological issues as well as critical assessment of Near Eastern and Greco-Roman antecedents for Old and New Testament perspectives. While many entries address the Bible's historical context, including traditional theological perspectives on creation, sin,covenant, grace, and forgiveness, others are more rooted in modern issues, featuring biblical perspectives on contemporary concerns such as wealth and poverty, gender/race discrimination, and market economics.The two-volume OEBT contains 168 entries ranging in length from 2,000 to 8,000 words. With bibliographic references and suggestions for further reading, each entry affords students and scholars a comprehensive topical and methodological summary of the topic that serves as both a go-to reference anda starting point for original research. The OEBT's distinctive approach and range of entries make it a unique resource that fills a void in biblical scholarship.

The field of biblical studies is dynamic, with new discoveries, new methodologies, and new perspectives continually enhancing the interpretation of the Bible. There is thus a need for an up-to-date, comprehensive, authoritative, and balanced series of reference works for biblical scholars andstudents.The two-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible is the first in this series of specialized reference works, each addressing a specific subfield within biblical studies. The series aims to produce high-level scholarly reference works that are accessible and in-depth, going beyond thebasics to provide more specialized coverage.Books of the Bible provides a single source for authoritative reference overviews of scholarship on some of the most important topics of study in the field of biblical studies. The Encyclopedia contains almost 120 in-depth entries, ranging in length from 500 to 10,000 words, on each of the canonicalbooks of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation.Books of the Bible has extensive cross-references to other useful points of interest within the Encyclopedia, and comprehensive lists of abbreviations and an index for ease of use. Illustrations of various types supplement the text and enhance its appeal. Bibliographies for all entries further addto its usefulness.

The Bible has been a rich source of inspiration for two thousand years, one of the great wellsprings of Western civilization. In The Oxford Guide to Ideas and Issues of the Bible, dozens of eminent scholars explore how the Bible has influenced our religious, ethical, artistic, andphilosophical traditions.Here are more than two hundred alphabetically-arranged entries that explore key aspects of the Bible and its teachings. The contributors examine what the Bible says about timeless issues such as adultery and abortion, divorce and drunkenness, marriage and murder, suffering and temptation; andthey discuss religious concepts found in the Bible, ranging from incarnation, sin, and grace, to baptism, ethics, and the Holy Spirit. The book also considers the wider intellectual world, examining the Bible's influence on Western law and medicine and it looks at how the Bible has been viewed bythinkers such as Marx and Freud and by fields such as social science and archaeology. Thoughtful essays also analyze the Bible's influence on human creativity, in areas such as music, dance, art, and literature (the latter includes an extensive discussion of the impact of the Bible on Americanwriting, from Cotton Mather to Saul Bellow). There is even an article on everyday expressions from the Bible, ranging from "the love of money is the root of all evil" to such common sayings as "the skin of one's teeth," "at one's wit's end," and "you can't take it with you."The Oxford Guide to Ideas and Issues of the Bible brings together a wealth of insight into the Bible's impact on our culture. It is an essential addition to any school or home library.

Most Bible dictionaries on the market miss a number of cultural and sociological issues of interest to the study of the Scriptures. The Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical and Post-Biblical Antiquityaims to fill this void. Written and edited by a world-class historian and a highly respected biblical scholar, with contributions by many others, this unique reference work provides background cultural and technical information on the world of the Hebrew Bible and New Testament from 2000 BC to approximately AD 600. Articles explain details of domestic life, technology, culture, laws, and religious practices, and are accompanied by extensive bibliographic material for further exploration. Articles range from 5-20 pages long. Scholars, pastors, and students (and their teachers) will find this to be a useful resource for biblical study, exegesis, and sermon preparation. This second volume covers around 41 topics from De-Ma, including: Dentistry &Teeth, Diseases &Plagues, Drama &Theaters, Dreams, Education, Food Production, Games &Gambling, Harbors, Heating &Lighting, Insects &Bees, Jewelry, Kisses &Embraces, Laws &Crimes, Literacy, Marriage, and many more.

The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary, revised and updated edition, is the most complete, up-to-date, and accessible guide for the study of the Bible available today. With more than 4,000 lively, informative, and reader-friendly entries, this essential reference book provides all the information you need to understand the Bible. Whether you are a pastor, layperson, or a student of scripture, you will find every important name, place, and subject that makes Bible study come to life. From Aaron to Zurishaddai, here are all the people, events, and ideas of biblical times. This third edition continues in the rich tradition of its predecessors but has been thoroughly updated and revised by a new editorial team under the direction of the premier international scholarly body, the Society of Biblical Literature (SBL). More than half the articles in this book are new, and several dozen charts and tables have also been added as well as updates on recent archaeological discoveries. Over 200 contributors to the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary, from a diverse group of authorities, represent an ecumenical and non-biased viewpoint of scripture from different positions--Roman Catholic, Jewish, mainline Protestant, and evangelical. Filled with explanations of biblical beliefs, language, and insights into the culture and customs of the people who lived in biblical times, this resource will help anyone interested in scripture to more fully appreciate the meaning and message of the Bible.

More than a generation has passed since the appearance of the last major Catholic Bible dictionary. It has been a fertile generation for biblical scholarship, an eventful time for biblical archaeology, and a fruitful time for the Church's interpretation of the Bible. It is time for a new resource. Scott Hahn, internationally renowned theologian and biblical scholar, has inspired millions with his insight into the Catholic faith. Now he brings us this important reference guide, written specifically for Catholics, which contains more than five thousand clear and accessible entries and covers a wide range of people, places, and topics. From Genesis to Revelation, the whole of salvation history is presented and explained in smart, easy-to-understand prose. Catholic Bible Dictionary is an invaluable source of information, insight, and guidance for Catholics and others who are interested in enriching their understanding of Sacred Scripture. Scott Hahn draws from two millennia of scholarship to create an accessible and comprehensive tool for deeper and more rewarding biblical study.

In the pages of the Bible, we come to know God through Jesus Christ. Thus the importance of the Bible for our spiritual formation cannot be overstated. If we are honest, though, the Bible is not always easy to understand. For example, the places named in the Bible can seem strange, and the number of people mentioned is virtually countless. This comprehensive dictionary intends to help people read the Bible with increased understanding and confidence. It contains articles on major topics as well as places and people, even if they just appear in a single verse in the Bible. Its articles cover theological topics, biblical words, biblical imagery, and historical topics. This A to Z dictionary includes more than -1,700 full-color pages -400 color illustrations, maps, and photos -5,000 articles by leading evangelical scholars The Baker Illustrated Bible Dictionary is an informative, colorful, and easy-to-understand resource that will be an indispensable reference for your own personal study or in preparation for teaching.

Six years in the making, this state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible. B & W illustrations and line-art throughout.

A Dictionary of the Bible is the most acclaimed, accessible, and up-to-date dictionary of its kind. Containing over 2,000 authoritative entries it provides clear and concise information about all of the important places, people, themes, and doctrines of the Bible. Terms range from earthquakesand mice to martyrs and art, and new to this edition are entries on Act of God, Old Testament and New Testament theology, Hanukkah, the Koran, mysticism, and many more.This dictionary features a detailed bibliography, biographies of Bible scholars, a conversion table of measures, weights, and values, a chronology of important dates in Biblical history, and historical maps (showing Israel in Canaan; the near east in the time of the Assyrian Empire; Palestine underthe Herods; the background of the New Testament; Rome and the East). In addition, entries on the books of the Bible have been grouped in alphabetical order and conveniently located in a tinted centre section for quick reference. Recommended web links in the appendix provide valuable extrainformation, these links are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of the Bible companion website.With lively and informative A-Z entries and an array of useful supplementary material, this dictionary is essential for students and teachers of theology and religious education, and it is an absorbing reference work for all readers of the Bible.

The most complete coverage of theological topics This dictionary is the definitive starting point for research on any topic, place or person in the Bible, with emphasis on the crucial theological concepts. Based on the NRSV. Unparalleled quality of information Written by 900 scholars, experts in their fields, from 40 nations and a variety of perspectives and diverse theological commitments. Totally new entries 7100 fresh, original articles. Also contains 1300 distinct cross-reference entries. Balanced and relevant content For any pastor, rabbi, preacher, teacher, or student who is preparing to serve the congregation. Theological content and thorough discussion of various interpretations is tailored for congregational use. It will become your most trusted companion!  

This dictionary not only identifies terms and biblical figures but also examines them from the perspective of "reception history"--the history of the Bible's effect on its readers. Biblical books, passages, and characters certainly played important roles in the history of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, but they also influenced other religious traditions, preachers, writers, poets, artists, and filmmakers. The study of such cultural effects of the Bible is an emerging field, and this work promises to open new avenues of exploration.