Health & Society

This is a brief fact sheet on children’s health offered by FastStats. For more in-depth health statistics, see the sections on “Summary Health Statistics for U.S. Children: National Health Interview Survey” and “America’s Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being 2001.”

Offered by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, this site provides demographic and health statistics on a national and international level.

A service of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, this site provides access to a number of different statistical sources. Try using the links for “More Data Books” and “More Census Products.”

Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center, the PeriStats web site provides free access to U.S., state, county, and city maternal and infant health data. The site can be used to create graphs and maps, as well as to find quick facts and state summaries.

UNICEF provides international health statistics, with an emphasis on children and women.

An interagency effort, this site provides demographic and health statistics for older Americans and also serves as a gateway to other United States government sites related to aging.

Developed by staff of the division of Health Promotion Statistics of the National Center for Health Statistics, it contains the most recent monitoring data for Tracking Healthy People 2010. Includes data by population group.

"The Health and Retirement Study (HRS) is a source of longitudinal, cross-sectional data for researchers and policymakers who study aging. HRS surveys more than 22,000 Americans over the age of 50 every two years and studies the labor force participation and health transitions that individuals undergo toward the end of their work lives and in the years that follow. The study has collected information about income, work, assets, pension plans, health insurance, disability, physical health and fun

This page is part of the National Center for Health Statistics site and provides health statistics for older Americans on a number of topics, such as hearing and dental health.

A service of the National Alliance for Hispanic Health, this site provides information both in English and Spanish.

The Division of Program Statistics offers access to IHS publications such as the “Regional Differences in Indian Health” and “Trends in Indian Health” series, as well as documents on special health topics. Also check the “IHS Area Publications” and “Statistical Databases” links.

This is a March 2002 report in which a panel of experts documents inequality in health care and explores how persons of color experience the health care environment. The book examines how disparities in treatment may arise in health care systems and looks at aspects of the clinical encounter that may contribute to such disparities. Published by the National Academies Press, you may read this report online.

Information and data from Kaiser Foundation.

Links to the latest news and studies on African American Health. From the National Library of Medicine.

Part of the National Library of Medicine, this index page provides access to information, including statistics, on a variety of population groups.

“MDRC is a membership-funded archive whose purpose is to provide data resources for the comparative analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States. We offer streamlined access to existing ICPSR data and to newly acquired studies that are relevant to the study of immigration, place of origin, ancestry, ethnicity, and race in the United States.”

From the National Institutes of Health.

The National Medical Association (NMA) is the collective voice of African American physicians and the leading force for parity and justice in medicine and the elimination of disparities in health.

The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nation

Part of the Office of Minority Health site, this page provides links to outside statistical information and publication of the OMH.

“The goal of IFSS is to provide researchers, educators, students, policy makers, and others with a data resource to examine issues related to families and fertility in the United States spanning five decades. IFSS provides access to ten individual national studies of fertility encompassing the Growth of American Families (GAF), National Fertility Surveys (NFS), and National Surveys of Family Growth (NSFG) as well as a single dataset composed of harmonized variables across all ten surveys. Anal

The International Women's Health Coalition (IWHC) promotes and protects the sexual and reproductive rights and health (SRRH) of all women and young people, particularly in Africa, Asia, and Latin America, by helping to develop effective health and population policies, programs, and funding.

The HERS Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit international women's health education organization. HERS provides information about alternatives to hysterectomy and the aftereffects of the surgery.

The International Women's Health Coalition (IWHC) promotes and protects the sexual and reproductive rights and health (SRRH) of all women and young people, particularly in Africa, Asia, and Latin America, by helping to develop effective health and population policies, programs, and funding.

The Office on Women's Health (OWH) was established in 1991 within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).