Newsmakers
- Health Map: Global Health, Local InformationGlobal map detailing global health issues.
- National Institutes of HealthCurrent newsletter.
Subject Guide
Best Bets
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) Ultimate database provides full text access to over 1,000 journals related to nursing and allied health. Subjects include ambulatory care nursing, cardiovascular nursing, critical care nursing, occupational therapy, pediatric nursing, physical therapy, and psychiatric nursing. Access is provided courtesy of Dahlgren Memorial Library.
- Data & Statistics: CDCCDC's site for health statistics and information.
- Health FinderU.S. Department of Health and Human Services website, HealthFinder links to the Internet sites of over 1,800 health-related government and non-profit health and human services organizations.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowFree (non-subscription) access to the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCumulates five databases:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it. - Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowPolicy Commons is a one-stop community platform for research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. This growing database is the world’s largest directory of policy organizations representing nearly 24,000 organizations and over 3 million publications.
Government Health Organizations
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (ARQ)AHRQ is the lead Federal agency charged with supporting research designed to improve the quality of healthcare.
- Childstats.govFederal statistics and reports collected from 20 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.
- Evaluation Resource Center (UN Development Programme)Fulltext database for UNDP project documents, 1990s-present.
- FASTSTATS: A-ZCDC site on U.S. health and medical statistics.
- Healthcare Cost and Utilization ProjectProvides aggregate national statistics and trends and selected state statistics about hospital stays, using data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS), the Kids' Inpatient Database (KID), and the State Inpatient Databases (SID) for States that participate.
- HHS Data Council Gateway to Data and StatisticsCite provides easy access to HHS data and statistics and also brings together key federal health and human services related data and statistics from other sources. U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.
- National Center for Health StatisticsHealth statistics on U.S. populations and subgroups, health care delivery, use of health care by race and ethnicity, socioeconomic status, region, etc. CDC.
- U.S. Centers for Disease ControlCDC web page.
- U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)CMS provides health insurance for over 74 million Americans through Medicare, Medicaid and SCHIP.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)FDA’s mission is to promote and protect the public health by helping safe and effective products reach the market in a timely way, and monitoring products for continued safety after they are in use.
- World Health Organization (WHO)The WHO is an international organization that provides health information on an international scale.
