Health & Society

The National Center for Complimentary and Alternative Medicine at NIH provides these guidelines for evaluating health information found on the Internet.

The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine at NIH provides this fact sheet to assist in decision-making about CAM. Included are frequently asked questions, issues, and additional resources.

Contains current information on complementary and alternative therapies (search by words alternative (medicine or therapy), complementary (medicine or therapy), a particular modality (acupuncture) by a particular substance: (gingko or shark carttilage).

The National Cancer Institute offers a series of fact sheets for patients and health professionals on a range of alternative treatments.

The 2005 report from the National Academies of Science (NAS) Committee on the Use of Complementary and Alternative Medicine by the American Public on the integration of complementary and alternative therapies with conventional medicine in the U.S. healthcare industry.

The Linus Pauling Institute at Oregon State University is an NIH/NCCAM Center of Excellence for Research on Complementary and Alternative Medicine. Their mission is to determine the function and role of vitamins, minerals and medicinal plant chemicals in promoting health and preventing and treating conditions such as cancer, heart disease, and neuro generative diseases.

A product of the National Library of Medicine, the Health Topics section includes this page of links to full-text resources. Reference is made to additional MEDLINEplus pages on specific areas of CAM. There is also a Go Local page to find CAM resources in Maryland. A Spanish version of the page is available by clicking on Espanol in the top right corner.

Established through Congressional mandate, NCCAM was established and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health. It contains information about NCCAM, general health information, training, research, clinical trials, and news and events.

British site that performs searching on its own database and links to databases in areas of interest as well as professional bodies and other useful resources. Also provides book reviews, research methodology.

The RMHI is a private educational and research organization offering professional training in Chinese herbal sciences since 1987. The institute offers courses to professionals and the general public, publishes textbooks on Chinese herbology, provides healthcare to the public and conducts research projects. This site offers informative articles on Chinese herbology, clinical reports and healthcare politics, plus free access to the TCM HerbLibrary, a database of over 220 herbs of the Chinese material medica.

The AIH is a trade association of medical and osteopathic physicians, dentists, advanced practice nurses and physician assistants dedicated to the practice, promotion and improvement of homeopathic medicine.

The only national homoeopathic association representing the interests of registered homoeopaths in Australia.

BHA charity was founded in 1902, has a long-established reputation for providing authoritative information and supporting research and training in homeopathy.

The aim of ECCH is to encourage the highest standards of professional practice of Classical Homeopathy in homeopaths in order that they are best able to restore and improve the health of patients.

NCH has the mission of protecting and promoting homeopathy in the U.S.

UK based professional register of homoepaths and publisher of The homoeopath.

Planetary Herbology brings together three great systems of herbal healing - Western Herbal Medicine (WHM).

Paul Bergner's website includes full text of Medical Herbalism, the quarterly journal of herbal medicine, and providers of classroom, clinical and distance learning education in medical herbalism.

Herbal websites compiled by Michael Moore, Southwest School of Botanical Medicine, Arizona. Wonderful resource with full text versions of classic herbals, including Eclectic, Thomasonian medicine, ethnobotany and traditional use, herbology and pharmacy.

ABC is an independent, nonprofit research and education organization dedicated to providing accurate and reliable information for consumers, healthcare practitioners, researchers, educators, industry and the media. ABC publishes HerbalGram and HerbMedPro.

AHG is a non-profit, educational organization to represent the goals and voices of herbalists specializing in the medicinal use of plants.

National Herbalists Association of Australia is the oldest natural therapies association in Australia, and the only national professional body of medical herbalists.

The National Institute of Medical Herbalists is the UK's leading professional body representing herbal practitioners.

Established in February 2001, the American Association of Naturopathic Medical Colleges (AANMC), actively supports the accredited and recognized schools of naturopathic medicine.

American Association of Naturopathic Physicians (AANP) is the national professional society representing licensed or licensable naturopathic physicians who are graduates of four-year, residential graduates programs.

The Australian Traditional-Medicine Society (ATMS) is Australia's largest professional association of complementary medicine practitioners, representing about 65% of the total complementary medicine profession. The complementary medicine profession consists of massage therapists, herbalists, acupuncturists, homeopaths, naturopaths and nutritionists.

HANP is affiliated with the American Association of Naturopathic Physicians and is dedicated to excellence in homeopathic education, offering board certification in classical homeopathy to qualified naturopathic physicians. Their quarterly publication, Simillimum, presents case studies, materia medica, industry news and discussion of practical applications of homeopathic concepts.