Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Maryland Province Archives

This is a guide to using the Maryland Province Archives (MPA), held at the Booth Family Center for Special Collections.

Introduction and Overview

This guide orients researchers to the Archives of the Maryland Province of the Society Jesus, more commonly referred to as the Maryland Province Archives, or simply the MPA.  This collection, which has been on deposit at Georgetown University since the 1970s, documents the Jesuit presence in North America from the 17th through 20th centuries. 

Map of Maryland Jesuit Stations, 1917The MPA is available for use by appointment at the Booth Family Center for Special Collections on the 5th floor of Georgetown's Lauinger Library.  The Booth Family Center is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Reference inquiries may be made by telephone (202-687-1312) or via our email form.  Requests to view specific materials should be made through Aeon, our system for requesting special collections materials.

The MPA is open for use by all Georgetown students, faculty, and staff as well as independent researchers who are unaffiliated with Georgetown.  Those completing genealogical research - especially in relation to the "GU 272" - are also encouraged to use the collection.

 

ImageMap of Maryland Jesuit Stations. Thomas Hughes, History of the Society of Jesus in North America, Vol. 2 (New York: Longmans, Green, & Company, 1917).

 

 

 

A note about collection use:  Lauinger staff are currently reorganizing the entirety of the Maryland Province Archives, writing a new finding aid, and digitizing all materials dating prior to 1900.  Updates on this process may be found here.  Please also note that because of this work, some portions of the collection may be temporarily unavailable.  Researchers are encouraged to contact staff well in advance of their visit to ensure the availability of materials.

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy