Your Librarian
Welcome!
Welcome! This guide highlights the major resources the library provides for your research in Arabic Language, Linguistics, and Literature. Use the menu at the left to navigate.
Remember:
- You can access most library resources from wherever you are by logging in with your GU NetID and password. (instructions: Off Campus Access)
Best Bets
The following resources are recommended for starting your Arabic Language, Linguistics, and Literature research. Additional resources are available through the left-hand menu.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowCitations to international scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on language and linguistics, speech, and communication. Particularly strong in applied and descriptive linguistics and psycholinguistics.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
- Database of Arabic Literature in Western ResearchThe Database of Arabic Literature in Western Research (DAL) is an easy-to-use, searchable, internet-based bibliographic database of Arabic literature in western research....provides easy access to detailed, annotated and content-enriched bibliographic records of books, articles, chapters of books and reviews written in English since the movement of translation and commentary of Arabic literary texts first began in the West. Based at Oxford University, England.
- The Cambridge History of Arabic LiteratureThe Cambridge History of Arabic Literature is a series of collaborative volumes covering the field from early Islam up to the present day.
- Brockelmann Online This link opens in a new windowBrockelmann Online consists of both original volumes Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann (1868-1956), as well as the three supplement volumes, including the indexes. It is full-text searchable. GAL offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. The multi-volume reference work is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author's works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature. See the Transliteration table for Brill Online to see how Arabic, etc. words are romanized. It is best to use Brockelmann Online in conjunction with the print edition.
Helpful Internet Resources
This is a selected list of websites related to Arabic literature and translation.
- Adab.comAdab.com is an online collection of Arabic poetry, including both classical and contemporary works. The site can be searched by poet or poem.
- Contemporary Arab Women WritersFrom Boston University: "Women writers whose works have been translated into English are included in this bibliography. The writings span nationalism, resistance to misogyny, celebration of women's achievements, religion, and affirmation of women's empowerment in times of war and peace."
- Database of Arabic Literature in Western ResearchThe Database of Arabic Literature in Western Research (DAL) is an easy-to-use, searchable, internet-based bibliographic database of Arabic literature in western research....provides easy access to detailed, annotated and content-enriched bibliographic records of books, articles, chapters of books and reviews written in English since the movement of translation and commentary of Arabic literary texts first began in the West. Based at Oxford University, England.
- Thesaurus d'Epigraphie IslamiqueMore than 30,000 inscriptions, with more than 10,000 photos of inscriptions. The goal of the Thesaurus d'Epigraphie Islamique is to bring together all of the inscriptions in Arabic, Persian and Turkish (as well as in other = "small" languages) from the Muslim world up to the year 1000 of the Hegira. The Thesaurus d'Epigraphie Islamique is a vital resource for historians, art historians and other specialists of the region.
