Your Librarian
Date Converters
- Hijri Date Converterconverts Gregorian to Hijri/Hijri to Gregorian dates. Sponsored by IslamiCity.com
- Islamic Calendar: Hijri Date ConverterConverts Hijri to Gregorian/Gregorian to Hijri calendars.
- Hijri-Rumi calendar conversion (from Harvard)This detailed conversion table requires minimal knowledge of Turkish as the days and months of the Rumi dates are in Turkish
Digitized Collections
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Archive Alsharekh - أرشيف الشارخArchive Alsharekh is an online repository of literary and cultural magazines from around the Arab world and its diasporas. It holds digitized versions of important journals such as Al-Adab, Sh'ir, and Al-Karmel.
- Arabic Collections Online (ACO)Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. It provides access to more than 15,000 volumes, with particular strengths in late 19th and early 20th century texts. Many of these are in the fields of language and literature.
- Fihrist, A Union Catalogue of Manuscripts from the Islamicate WorldFihrist is a catalog of combined holdings of the contributing Libraries of the UK and Ireland. All participating libraries have been selectively collecting manuscripts from all subject areas, and of various geographical origins, dating from the 7th to the 19th century CE. When applicable, links to the digitized versions of the manuscripts are included in the item record.
- Manuscripts of the Muslim WorldManuscripts of the Muslim World provides public access to digital editions of more than 500 manuscripts and 827 paintings from the Islamicate world broadly construed from Columbia University, the Free Library of Philadelphia, and the University of Pennsylvania with signifiant contributions from Bryn Mawr College and Haverford College.
Films
- Kanopy Film & Media This link opens in a new windowThis curated collection of streaming films from Kanopy's "Film & Media Collection" includes documentaries, foreign films, and many classic movies. Distributors include Kino Lorber, First Run Features, and the Media Education Foundation. Films are streamed through a "Netflix-like" website and can be watched anywhere, anytime, in any setting.
- Asian Film Online This link opens in a new windowAsian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. Such themes are central to any meaningful discussion of contemporary Asian culture and society.
- British Pathé Historical Collection - Israel and the Palestinian TerritoriesBritish Pathé has an extensive collection of historical footage related to Israel/Palestine.
- World Cinema Project (WCP)The World Cinema Project (WCP) preserves and restores neglected films from around the world. The site includes more than 50 films from across the world that have been restored, preserved, and exhibited for a global audience.
AUC's Kraus Offprints Collection
N.B. Please note that this is only an *index* to the Offprints in the Kraus-Meyerhof collection & does not contain the full-text of the documents; it may, however, be a useful supplement to Index Islamicus for publications during the period covered by the collection.
The Kraus-Meyerhof Offprints digital collection includes indexes to journal articles, books chapters, and portions of larger works. Generally printed at the same time as the book or journal, offprints are printed for the author's use. The indexes from the Kraus-Meyerhof Offprints offer a comprehensive look at the articles and book chapters in the collection. Topics covered include Arabic literature, Islamic philosophy, Arab medicine, and Muslim scholarship.
The offprints were originally collected by Paul Kraus, an Arabist born in Prauge in 1904. Kraus was educated in Europe and spent several years in Cairo and the Middle East before his death in 1944. The collected offprints feature scholarship authored by German opthamologist, author, medical historian Max Meyerhof. Dr. Max, as he was referred to by patients, was born in 1874 and died in 1945 in Cairo where he helped establish medical care in Egypt.
The indexes to the Kraus-Meyerhof Offprints Collection were compiled sometime during the time ranging from the 1960s to the 1980s. During this time, the collection would have been held by Special Services in the Library or in the Creswell Library, precursors to the Rare Books and Special Collections Library. The indexes of the Kraus-Meyerhof Offprints were digitized and described by the Rare Books and Special Collections Library in October 2012.
