Your Librarian
Online Dictionaries
- Mawrid Reader: Arabic Dictionary InterfaceMawrid Reader provides online access to 32 different Arabic dictionaries for language learners. The site is also searchable by three letter root.
- Arabterm Technisches WorterbuchMultilingual (Arabic, English, French, German) specialized dictionaries.
Project of Germany's Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) project in partnership with ALECSO - Dict.info Arabic DictionariesA free bilingual dictionary for Arabic and other language combinations. Browsable online, with word searches, and downloadable data files.
- LingvoSoft Arabic-English Online DictionaryBilingual Arabic-English dictionary; site also includes a multilingual dictionary with 25 languages
Modern Standard Arabic Language Dictionaries
Modern Standard Arabic dictionaries are listed first in this box; see the box below for Classical Arabic dictionaries.
- For Arabic-Arabic dictionaries, use the subject: Arabic language -- Dictionaries
- For Arabic-English/English-Arabic dictionaries, use the subject: Arabic language -- Dictionaries -- English
- Follow the same pattern for bilingual Arabic dictionaries for other languages.
- Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic byCall Number: LAU Ref Desk PJ6640 .W43 1979Standard dictionary of modern Arabic, Arabic-English.
Also several copies in Lau Stacks. - Mawrid al-akbar : qāmūs Inkilīzī-ʻArabī ḥadīth = Mawrid Al-Akbar : a modern English-Arabic dictionary = المورد الأكبر : قاموس إنكليزي - عربي حديث byCall Number: LAU Ref Stacks PJ6640 .B354 2004xBy Munīr Baʻlabakkī. Standard English-Arabic dictionary. Frequently revised.
- al-Muʻjam al-ʻArabī wa-taḥaddiyāt al-ʻaṣr : bibliyūghrāfiyah mukhtārah byCall Number: LAU Stacks Z7052 .I578 2004
- Muʻjam al-kabīr byCall Number: LAU Stacks PJ6622 .M28
Qu'ran Dictionaries
Also search for the subject Qur'an Dictionaries in HoyaSearch
- Arabic-English Dictionary of Qur'anic Usage / Badawi, El-Said MCall Number: LAU Stacks BP133 .B23 2008
- Dictionary and glossary of the Kor-ân, with copious grammatical references and explanations of the text: Arabic-English / Penrice, JohnCall Number: LAU Stacks PJ6696.Z8 P4 1960z
- Dictionary of the Holy Qurʻân : Arabic words, English meanings : with notes / Omar, Abdul MannânCall Number: LAU Ref Stacks BP133 .O43 2003
- Qāmūs al-Qurʼān al-Karīm : muʻjam al-alfāẓ al-ḥaḍārīyahCall Number: LAU Stacks BP133 .Q35 2002
Compiled by Muʼassasat al-Kuwayt lil-Taqaddum al-ʻIlmī (Kuwait)
Classical Arabic Dictionaries
- Kitāb al-ʻAyn / Khalīl ibn AḥmadLAU Stacks PJ6620 .K47 1980
Early Arabic-Arabic dictionary - Kitāb al-Mukhaṣṣaṣ / Ibn Sīdah, ʻAlī ibn IsmāʻīlLAU Stacks PJ6620 .I22
- Lisān al-ʻArab / Ibn Manẓūr, Muḥammad ibn MukarramLAU Stacks PJ6620 .I154 2003
Medieval Arabic-Arabic dictionary. 9 vols. - Lisān al-ʻArab al-muḥītLAU Stacks Quarto PJ6620 .I56 1980
Updated edition of Ibn Manzur's work with al-Muṣṭalaḥāt al-ʻilmīyah wa-al-fannīyah by Majmaʻ al-Lughah al-ʻArabīyah bi-Dimashq - Lisān al-ʻArab al-muḥīṭLAU Stx Quarto PJ6620 .I56 1988
Reprint in 7 vols. - al-Ṣiḥāḥ : tāj al-lughah wa-ṣiḥāḥ al-ʻArabīyah / Jawharī, Ismāʻīl ibn ḤammādLAU Stacks PJ6620 .J39 1984
- al-Qāmūs al-muḥīt / Fīrūzābādī, Muḥammad ibn YaʻqūbLAU Stacks PJ6620 .F53
LAU Stacks PJ6620 .F5 1970z - Tāj al-ʻarūs / Murtaḍá al-Zabīdī, Muḥammad ibn MuḥammadLAU Stacks Quarto PJ6620 .M852 1966
Concordances
- Concordance of the Quran byCall Number: LAU Ref Stacks BP133 .K37 1983Also available online in Oxford Islamic Studies Online
- Muʻjam al-Nūr li-maʻānī alfāẓ al-Qurʼān al-karīm bi-al-Fārisīyah : [ʻArabī- Fārisī] byCall Number: LAU Stacks BP133 .A23 2008
