Guides: STIA 3196: Environmental Change: Engaging the Public with Effective Science Writing: Home

Welcome!

This course guide identifies recommended resources and strategies for your writing class! Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions! The Science Librarian is Sharon Clayton and the Policy and Government Librarian is Kim MacVaugh.

Environmental Science
by Sharon Clayton Last Updated Dec 10, 2024 39 views this year
Environmental Policy
by Lauinger Reference Last Updated Aug 20, 2024 25 views this year
Climate Change
by Sharon Clayton Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 50 views this year
Biology
by Sharon Clayton Last Updated Dec 20, 2024 21 views this year
Health & Society
by Sharon Clayton Last Updated Jan 6, 2025 41 views this year
Health Statistics
by Sharon Clayton Last Updated Jan 6, 2025 94 views this year
News & Commentary
by Lauinger Reference Last Updated Nov 21, 2024 1556 views this year
Congressional Information
by Lauinger Reference Last Updated Nov 21, 2024 56 views this year
Government Information (US)
by Kim MacVaugh Last Updated Dec 10, 2024 15 views this year

Key Databases

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage on environment-related subjects, from ecosystem ecology and renewable energy sources to environmental law and public policy. Contains full text for 950 journals, including many of the most used in the discipline, such as Environment, Ecologist, or Conservation Biology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free (non-subscription) access to the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Cumulates five databases:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it.