Guides: STIA 3196: Environmental Change: Engaging the Public with Effective Science Writing: Health

Key Health Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free (non-subscription) access to the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1985 to 2011/2013 only, does not include current abstracts.
Covers the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world’s published biological and biomedical research.

Bioline International
Provides access to some 35 peer-reviewed journals from Brazil, Cuba, India, Indonesia, Kenya, South Africa, Uganda, Zimbabwe and more in the areas of health (tropical medicine, infectious diseases, epidemiology, emerging new diseases), biodiversity, the environment, conservation and international development.

Nursing & Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Contains full text for nearly 400 journals indexed in CINAHL including Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing, International Nursing Review, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, and many more.
PsycARTICLES on Ovid This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to psychology-related journals published by the APA, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine is the premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports. Publication coverage is from 1978 to the present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977.