Free (non-subscription) access to the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
A database that encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Also includes PreMEDLINE, a database of citations that have not yet been fully indexed for entry into MEDLINE.
Best Bets For Non-Science Majors
These are general academic databases that include some biology but may contain less technical information than the key databases. The first of the following three databases may be the most useful one for non-science majors writing on a science topic.
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Searches full text and images for science and technology periodicals. Subject coverage includes all applied and general science topics, including computer science, engineering, telecommunications, and transportation.
Comprehensive and timely critical reviews of the most significant primary research literature. Written by leading scientists, Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited publications in the scientific literature. Note: Georgetown only subscribes to certain titles in this collection.
The ETHXWeb database provides citations of journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Genetics and Ethics contains citations of books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles, and audiovisuals focused on genetics and ethics.
previously called Kennedy Institute of Ethics Databases
Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of Elsevier journal articles mainly in science and medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities, particularly business, economics and psychology. The full text of most journals is available to Georgetown users. You can search across all journals or browse/search in an individual journal. Note: As of 1/1/16, Internet Explorer users must use IE9 or higher; ScienceDirect does not support earlier versions.
Need to renew your ChemDraw Professional license? Follow these instructions. Molecule editor and chemical structure drawing tool for chemists and biologists. Allows you to draw and submit chemical compound and reaction searches direct to SciFinder. Offers an extensive set of biological templates and drawing objects to create illustrations of cells and pathways. Georgetown’s site license allows all current Georgetown students, faculty, and staff to download the program for free to their home, office, or personal computer. After installation, no Internet connection is required for use. Requires a free PerkinElmer account to download. Follow the instructions to create a free account with PerkinElmer (or log in with your existing account), then download the software.
To download ChemDraw onto your computer, click this link, register for an account with PerkinElmer using your @georgetown.edu email address for authentication, and click "Register." After registration, follow the instructions to begin downloading and installing ChemDraw. You should only be required to create an account once. For download questions, contact Blommer Science Library staff at email@example.com
NOTE: SciFinderⁿ requires that users have an individual, free account on the site. To register, please visit the SciFinder registration page. Additional login information is available directly from the CAS as a PDF.
Like its online predecessor, SciFinder (and its print equivalent, Chemical Abstracts), SciFinderⁿ is a core chemistry research and discovery tool for finding chemical substances, reactions, journal articles, and patent records. Two new elements make SciFinderⁿ particularly valuable:
- PatentPak—helps scientists evaluate the relevance of patents by making it easy to navigate quickly to specific substances referenced in the text of a patent
- MethodsNow—enables immediate access to millions of synthetic protocols (i.e., step-by-step synthetic methods)
With its additional functionality, SciFinderⁿ provides information and data faster and more comprehensively than SciFinder did, widening the search landscape and possibly increasing research productivity and impact.
ProQuest database providing the electronic equivalent of Dissertation Abstracts International. Beginning with the first U.S. dissertation in 1861, represents the work of authors from North American and European universities on a full range of academic subjects. Indexes and provides access to Georgetown-authored theses and dissertations.
Includes abstracts for doctoral dissertations beginning July 1980 and for Master's theses beginning Spring 1988. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts. Citations for Master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Most dissertations published since 1997, and some from prior years, are available for free download; others may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
Provides access to scholarship from Georgetown's Department of Biology -- including graduate theses and dissertations -- housed in DigitalGeorgetown.
A Word About Google Scholar
Google Scholar doesn't provide a list of the journals it includes, so one is never clear as to what is being searched. But the ranking function is great and may get you what you need. The articles that have been cited most often in the bibliographies of other articles come up first. This can be helpful in identifying key articles on a topic, but note the year of publication. Older articles have had more time to garner citatiions.
Be sure to set your Scholar Preferences/Library Links for Georgetown. Watch a short video for more information.