Your Librarian
Global Development Data Sources
- World Development Indicators (WDI) from World BankWDI includes demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators, 1960-present.
- Human Development IndexAn index from the UNDP (UN Development Programme), using three parameters to measure human development and quality of life: wealth, health and education.
- IATI Development Data PortalThe International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) is a voluntary, multi-stakeholder initiative that seeks to improve the transparency of aid, development, and humanitarian resources in order to increase their effectiveness in tackling poverty. The IATI data browser provides a search function and information by country or by publisher on development activities and budgets submitted to IATI.
- USAID Foreign Assistance DataData dashboard for the US Agency for International Development and US Department of State, including the Greenbook of USAID loans and grants around the world.
- Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) DataThe Open SDG Data Hub promotes the exploration, analysis, and use of authoritative SDG data sources for evidence-based decision-making and advocacy. Its goal is to enable data providers, managers and users to discover, understand, and communicate patterns and interrelationships in the wealth of SDG data and statistics that are now available.
- The Commitment to Development IndexRatings of wealthy nations by the NGO Center for Global Development on their dedication to providing aid to countries in need.
- World Food Programme (WFP) Data on IATIThe World Food Programme (WFP) discontinued its International Food Aid Information System (INTERFAIS) and now shares performance data on the open database of the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI).
Commodities, Trade, and Labor Data
- UNCTADstatUnilateral and bilateral country-level time series on international trade, economic trends, foreign direct investment (FDI), external financial resources, commodities and maritime transport.
- The Atlas of Economic ComplexityThe Atlas of Economic Complexity is an award-winning data visualization tool that allows people to explore global trade flows across markets, track these dynamics over time and discover new growth opportunities for every country. Built at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government, The Atlas is powered by Harvard’s Growth Lab’s research.
- FAOSTAT: FAO Statistical DatabasesStatistical databases of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). Includes international statistics on agriculture, food production, trade, forest products, fisheries and more.
- ILOSTATStatistics on worldwide labor, employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labor cost, consumer price indices, occupational injuries, strikes and lockouts.
- UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (Comtrade) This link opens in a new windowAnnual compilation of trade statistics from over 130 countries, detailed by commodity and partner country. The data are processed into a standard format with consistent coding and valuation. All values are converted into U.S. dollars using exchange rates supplied by the countries, or derived from monthly market rates and volume of trade. For many countries, the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year. [N.B.: GU only has access to the "free" version of Comtrade; we are not premium subscribers.]
- UN Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) StatsCountry-level statistics on manufacturing and industry.
International Data Resources
- UN DataOver 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment of United Nations agencies and other international organizations. Most data are available in time series from 1970 or 1980 to the present. (Statistics for some items lag by several years.)
- World Bank Data CatalogThe World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. These resources include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports.
- International Monetary Fund Data PortalRepository of IMF data products including World Economic Outlook, International Financial Statistics, Global Financial Stability Report, and more.
- OECD.Stat This link opens in a new windowOECD.Stat, a feature of SourceOECD, contains quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in OECD member countries, the most highly industrialised in the world. Topics include general economic indicators, development and aid, agriculture, national accounts, labor market and social issues, foreign trade, and industry, science and technology.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowA vast collection of US and international statistics in Sage Data. Allows you to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new windowA free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created and accessed every 6 months from on-campus or through the proxied link above. Visit this guide for more information.
Provides access to computerized social science data collected by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad.
