Literature Liaison & Reference Librarian
Melissa Jones
Contact:
Research Consultations are available in person and via Zoom. Click Schedule Appointment to reserve a time. Email me if you need an alternate time.
202-687-7595
Online Reference Sources and Biographies
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowProvides online, full text access to Gale subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new windowFull-text biographical information on more than 150,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- Literature Resource Center (LRC) This link opens in a new windowFull-text biographical, bibliographical, and critical analysis of more than 100,000 world authors and works throughout history and across all literary genres (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, and journalism). Enables you to search by literary movement (e.g., Harlem Renaissance), gender, or author ethnicity (e.g., African American).
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowLimited to 8 concurrent users.A comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the 1990s. Formerly known as Grove Dictionary of Art.
5 Tips for Searching Google Effectively
Google's Advanced Search screen provides a number of ways to limit and refine your search. You can use the basic Google search to help you mine the contents of some social media feeds using the following tips:
- Use quotation marks to get exact wording: "health inequities"
- Use a minus sign or hyphen to omit words from your search: vaccines -influenza
- Use OR to add options: healthcare OR medical care
- Use site: to limit to specific domains: health inequities site: twitter.com
- Use site: plus a country code to search by geographic area: refugee site: FR
