Guides: Sports Management: Home

Welcome

This guide is intended to be a resource for students enrolled in the Master's in Sports Industry Management program at the School of Continuing Studies. It will help you find research sources related to your topic--just use the tabs in the left column of this screen to find the most relevant information.

If you need assistance, don't hesitate to contact the SCS Library.

Core Links

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to indexing and full text for academic, popular, and trade journals relating to sports and the sports industry.
Indexing and full text articles in sport administration, facility design & management, sport law & legislation, coaching and training, officiating, college & university sport, individual and team sports, intramural & school sport, sports medicine, sport & exercise psychology, physical education, health education, corporate wellness, sports science, sport history, sport engineering, sport sociology, sport tourism, recreation and leisure studies, sports and disabled populations, movement science, physical therapy, and other related fields.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Titles include Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review and Administrative Science Quarterly.
Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
Full text of current market research and industry news covering all facets of the sports industry, including sports equipment sales, participation, broadcasting, sponsorship and marketing.
Data comes from National Sporting Goods Association, U.S. Department of Commerce, various sports governing bodies, newsletters, and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by Miller Freeman. SBRnet also has buyTRACK, by Harris Interactive, a tracking study of sporting goods purchasing habits on the Internet.
HoyaSearch This link opens in a new window
HoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.

RefWorks: Citation Management System

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers gather, manage, store, and share information and generate citations and bibliographies.

Watch the SCS Library RefWorks Tutorial.