Guides: WRIT 1150 (Fuisz): Writing &amp; Culture Seminar: Scholarly Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles

General Databases

Academic Search Premier
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
ProQuest Central
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
JSTOR
Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields.
Google Scholar

Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, click on Settings and then on Library Links. Type Georgetown in the search box.)
Web of Science
Web of Science covers high impact scholarly journals in ALL fields, Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences & Sciences. It allows you to do two types of citation searching:
- Finding articles that cite a specific article
- Finding other articles that share citations with a key article

Subject-Specific Databases

Business & Economics Databases

ABI/Inform Complete
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
EconLit
Indexes and abstracts worldwide economic literature. Has article citations from over 400 major economic journals since 1972. Includes indexing of some book reviews, dissertations and working papers.

Computer & Technology Databases

Note: For Business or Economic info on technology try ABI / Inform

ACM Digital Library
Provides access to citations and full-text content of books, journal articles, reports, dissertations, and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
IEEE Xplore
Access to nearly one-third of the world's current literature in electrical engineering, electronics and computer science. Full text IEEE and IET Journal, Magazine,
Transaction, Conference Proceedings articles and Active (not Draft) IEEE Standards. Includes full text access to the backfile of IEEE publications dating to 1872.

Education & Sociology Databases

ERIC (via EBSCO)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides a rich vein of material relating to education literature and research. Content includes articles, books, papers, reports, and other materials on education topics dating back to 1966. The collection spans a broad range of education-related topics such as teaching, pedagogy, curriculum, bilingual education, counseling, policy, theory, and subjects of instruction, just to name a few.

Unlike other iterations of ERIC--such as ERIC (via Ovid) or ERIC (via ed.gov)--ERIC (via EBSCO) utilizes the EBSCO search platform. Because of this, it can be cross-searched with other related EBSCO databases, such as Education Source, Education Full Text, and Educational Administration Abstracts. Additionally, ERIC (via EBSCO) contains more full-text content than other versions of because it effectively links out to ProQuest Theses and Dissertations when appropriate.
Sociological Abstracts
A primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Based on an international selection of journals and other serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Includes book, film and software reviews. Major areas of coverage include anthropology, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies and violence.

Environmental Studies Databases

Environment Complete
Provides comprehensive coverage on environment-related subjects, from ecosystem ecology and renewable energy sources to environmental law and public policy. Contains full text for 950 journals, including many of the most used in the discipline, such as Environment, Ecologist, or Conservation Biology.
GreenFILE
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Includes citations to scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Some full text documents are included.

Film, Television & Media Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete
This link searches both Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.
Communication & Media Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Indexs Scholarly journals in the areas of journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, , television/film studies, media studies, business communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.

Includes the full text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies in the areas of journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies/intercultural communication, television/film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational/management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.
Film and Television Literature Index

A bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.

History & Culture Databases

America: History & Life
Primary index to research in American and Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Limit by language, time period, and document type (articles, collections of articles, books, and dissertations).
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center contains both primary sources and scholarly research on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself, including: the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals (formerly International Index to Black Periodicals [IIBP]), the full text of the Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
Indexes articles from more than 600 social science and humanities journals. Includes works published throughout the world which relate to Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Most articles are in Spanish or Portuguese, though some English language periodicals are indexed.
Historical Abstracts
Primary index to materials for research in world history from 1450 to the present, including social and cultural history. It covers Africa, Asia, Europe, Mexico, Central & South America & Oceana. It excludes the US & Canada.
Latin America & Iberia Database
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
References western-language books, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften on all parts of Asia. Allows browsing by subject, journal title, or by country/region or search by topic. Covers the social sciences as well as the humanities.

Law & Political Science Databases

ProQuest Political Science Database
ProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
HeinOnline
One of the premier sources for legal and political information. Full-text law journals are a major part of the database, but HeinOnline also includes deep historical collections of U.S. federal government documents.

Titles digitized include the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, bills and public laws in the Statutes at Large, the United States Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, selected legislative histories, Supreme Court documents, Presidential documents, and more. Search the Sources of Compiled Legislative History database by Public Law or Bill number, from the 37th to the 107th Congress. The U.S. Federal Legislative History Title Collection has full text legislative histories on significant legislation in banking, civil rights, labor, digital rights, the USA PATRIOT act, and other selected laws.

Medical & Health Databases

PubMed
Extensive coverage of literature related to Health, Medicine, Human biology, Molecular biology & Genetics
CINAHL Ultimate
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) Ultimate database provides full text access to over 1,000 journals related to nursing and allied health. Subjects include ambulatory care nursing, cardiovascular nursing, critical care nursing, occupational therapy, pediatric nursing, physical therapy, and psychiatric nursing. Access is provided courtesy of Dahlgren Memorial Library.

Selected journals are also indexed in the areas of consumer health, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
PsycINFO on Ovid
The primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Sports Databases

Note: For Sports in specific countries - try a History & Culture Database that covers that country.

SPORTDiscus
Provides access to indexing and full text for academic, popular, and trade journals relating to sports and the sports industry.

Indexing and full text articles in sport administration, facility design & management, sport law & legislation, coaching and training, officiating, college & university sport, individual and team sports, intramural & school sport, sports medicine, sport & exercise psychology, physical education, health education, corporate wellness, sports science, sport history, sport engineering, sport sociology, sport tourism, recreation and leisure studies, sports and disabled populations, movement science, physical therapy, and other related fields.
Sports Market Analytics
Full text of current market research and industry news covering all facets of the sports industry, including sports equipment sales, participation, broadcasting, sponsorship and marketing.

Data comes from National Sporting Goods Association, U.S. Department of Commerce, various sports governing bodies, newsletters, and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by Miller Freeman. SBRnet also has buyTRACK, by Harris Interactive, a tracking study of sporting goods purchasing habits on the Internet.