Guides: Western European Studies: Reference

Encyclopedias and reference sources

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History; Encyclopaedia Judaica; Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy; Encyclopedia of American Industries; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Encyclopedia of Bioethics; Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security; Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology; Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World; Encyclopedia of Population; Encyclopedia of Religion; Encyclopedia of Sociology; Encyclopedia of the American Constitution; Environmental Encyclopedia; Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America; Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology; New Catholic Encyclopedia; New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee Volume; New Dictionary of the History of Ideas; St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture; and West's Encyclopedia of American Law.

One Europe, Many Nations: A Historical Dictionary of European National Groups
Articles about the group's population, geographic "homeland," flag, people (ethnic and linguistic identity), and the "nation" (historical evolution of the group).
more...less...
Print location: LAU Stacks D21.3 .M55 2000

Europe since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000
ISBN: 0684806457
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
The European Union: A very short introduction by John Pinder; Simon Usherwood
ISBN: 0199681694
Publication Date: 2007
The European Union Explained by Andreas Staab
Call Number: JN30 .S713 2013
ISBN: 9780253220189
Publication Date: 2013

Dictionaries online

FRENCH: Trésor de la Langue Française informatiseé
more...less...
A detailed and scholarly monolingual dictionary, far superior to the online dictionary of the Academie française. Includes citations and etymology.
GERMAN: Digitales Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache
more...less...
Lexical corpus and dictionary compiled by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences. The dictionary is based on the "Wörterbuch der deutschen Gegenwartssprache" (WDG), and is supplemented by statistical data, co-occurences, and attestations drawn from a vast corpus of 20th century material.
ITALIAN: Italian Lessicografia della Crusca in Rete
more...less...
Online access to the five historical dictionaries published by the Accademia della Crusca. Entries are presented in plain text and in PDF. In Italian.
SPANISH: Diccionario de la Lengua Española
more...less...
The authoritative dictionary of the Spanish language, compiled by the Real Academia Española. Offers browser plugins and quick search functions.

Other Dictionaries at GU and WRLC

If you are looking for dictionaries in another language with English translations, try using the subject search to search for (Language Name Language -- English) for example (French Language -- English) or (Swedish Language -- English).