Guides: Western European Studies: European Union

Reference and Background Reading

EU ABC
Key to acronyms and Eurojargon
Europa: Gateway to the European Union
This alphabetical index can help you find specific information on EUROPA pages and on other websites of the European Union's institutions and bodies.

European NAvigator (ENA)
Digital library, designed and developed by the Centre Virtuel de la Connaissance sur l'Europe (CVCE), now containing over 16 000 documents on the European integration process.

more... less...

Key post-war historical events and the European organizations are presented chronologically and thematically, and are illustrated by a wide range of archive documents, as well as interviews conducted by the CVCE with people who have been actively involved in European integration.
Rapid
Official EU news agency.

more... less...

The RAPID database contains all the Press Releases of the Commission since 1985. It also contains Press Releases of some of the other European institutions, particularly the Council of the Union. Press releases of the Commission are available in at least English and French (the working languages of the Commission Press Room), while many of the Press Releases are available in all EC languages.
EUR-Lex
European Union Law
Register of EU Commission Documents
For each document, the register contains:
the code or reference number; the document title in the languages in which it is available; the date of the document; the languages in which it is available; the department responsible for drafting the document.

EU Statistics and Opinion Polls
Statistics cover topics ranging from regional growth to external trade. Opinion polls indicate how satisfied people are with different aspects of the EU and what could be improved.

International Financial Statistics - Online

This International Monetary Fund source provides current and historical financial information on member countries. Includes exchange rates, inflation and deflation, government finance, balance of payments, money and banking, and national income accounts. International Financial Statistics Yearbooks (1979 - ) are in LAU Stacks at HG 3881.I6262 (latest year at reference desk). Monthly print editions in Ref. HG 3881.I626.
OECD Data Explorer

Contains quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in OECD member countries, the most highly industrialised in the world. Topics include general economic indicators, development and aid, agriculture, national accounts, labor market and social issues, foreign trade, and industry, science and technology.
OECD Publications
Formerly called OECD iLibrary.
Free access to the online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Contains books, journals, newsletters, statistical periodicals, reference works, and interactive statistical data tables in over 25 database products published since 1998. Text can be searched by theme or country. Statistics can be searched by title and theme. Statistical databases allow users to build their own tables from the latest data, draw graphs and tables, and download to Excel or as .csv files.

Polling the Nations
Compilation of questions and responses from more than 12,000 national, state, local and special surveys. Includes polling from the U.S. and abroad.
Statesman's Year-Book Online Archive (1864-2004)
Yearbook providing concise, descriptive and statistical information on countries of the world.

Print location for 2005 - present: LAU Stacks JA51 .S7
For latest volume ask at the Reference Desk