Your Librarian
Helpful Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSHs)
The subject headings in use by the vast majority of American libraries are not locally determined. They are controlled by the Library of Congress. The subject headings in our catalogs may reflect outdated terminology.
Get Answers
“Et toi? Où elle est ta place?” Class, race, and place in French and Francophone Cultures
This guide provides an introduction to library sources and services related to the Spring 2024 Reading Texts in the French-Speaking World course “Et toi? Où elle est ta place?”: Class, race, and place in French and Francophone Cultures. The guide gives an overview of library collections and databases related to French & Francophone Studies as well as general research and writing tools.
Best Bets
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
- Gallica This link opens in a new windowDigital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Contains electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science. Almost all "classic" works of French literature are represented.
- Le MondeFrench version of Le Monde, one of the leading newspapers of France. The English version is also available (click "English" at top of screen). Not all articles are translated into English. Search of previous issues available in French. *Limited to 10 simultaneous users, please sign out when finished.*
- PERSEEA national digitization project of French academic journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Provides full text access in PDF format to French journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
- Cairn.infoCAIRN.INFO provides a comprehensive collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities with over 100 titles in full-text.
- Dictionnaire de l’Académie françaiseThe ninth edition of this magnum opus by the Académie française, the pre-eminent French learned body on matters pertaining to the French language.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes the major scholarly English-language journals in the humanities (including history and literature). For articles published before 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
- OpenEditionFrench-language open access ebook and journal platform with 9,453 books and 534 journals
About French at Georgetown
PRIMARY DEPARTMENT SERVED: Department of French
GENERAL OBJECTIVE: To support undergraduate instruction and individual faculty research in French linguistics, language and culture. Degree offered: B.S. through the School of Languages and Linguistics. Also to support an advanced degree offered in linguistics with minor in French and certificates in African Studies and European Studies.
SCOPE OF COVERAGE:
Language: Primary language is French, supplemented by English.
Geography: Collect from and about France and the French-speaking areas of Canada, Africa, and the West Indies.
Chronology: All periods of French language and literature.
