Guides: FREN 3350: Reading Texts in the French-Speaking World: Cultures: Articles & Journals

Databases for French

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.

PERSEE
A national digitization project of French academic journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Provides full text access in PDF format to French journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

ARTFL This link opens in a new window
French-language literary, religious, philosophical, political, and scientific works from the 13th through the 20th centuries. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form.
Gallica This link opens in a new window
Digital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Contains electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science. Almost all "classic" works of French literature are represented.
Revues.org This link opens in a new window
Full-text access (with embargo) to French social science and humanities journals published by the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS). Includes titles such as Anthropology of Food.

Cairn.info
CAIRN.INFO provides a comprehensive collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities with over 100 titles in full-text.
Bibliographie sur l’histoire de Montréal
Cette bibliographie est le fruit d'une collaboration étroite du Partenariat de recherche Montréal plaque tournante des échanges, histoire, patrimoine, devenir et du Laboratoire d'histoire et de patrimoine de Montréal, tous deux dirigés par Joanne Burgess. La réalisation de la bibliographie a été coordonnée par Paul André Linteau et Léon Robichaud, avec l'appui de plusieurs collaborateurs.

Tips for Finding Articles

WHEN YOU HAVE A CITATION

To find an article when you have a citation (e.g. from a bibliography), you can search for the article title in Google Scholar, or search for the journal title in Journal Finder (search boxes at left).

If we don't subscribe to the journal, you can request a scanned copy of the article through InterLibrary Loan.

SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES BY KEYWORD

To find articles on a particular topic, use an article index, a list of which can be found on the library’s homepage under Articles & Databases. To find relevant databases, use the "Databases by Specific Subject" column.

Your search will yield a list of citations to articles, and many will link right to the articles themselves online. Look for the "Full Text," "PDF" or “Find Full Text @G” links.

Related Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Primary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes the major scholarly English-language journals in the humanities (including history and literature). For articles published before 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles published in journals and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published worldwide. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 400 to 1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Citations to international scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations on language and linguistics, speech, and communication. Particularly strong in applied and descriptive linguistics and psycholinguistics.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Search citations and abstracts from over 1,000 journals in the arts and humanities. Part of Web of Science.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
Indexes book reviews and articles from English-language periodicals, including scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Covers a wide range of interdisciplinary fields (including sciences into the 1950s), represented in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. For articles published after 1984, use Humanities Full Text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields.

FREN 3350: Reading Texts in the French-Speaking World: Cultures

HoyaSearch: Find Journals

Major Journals

Google Scholar

Databases for French

Tips for Finding Articles

Related Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases