FREN 3350: Reading Texts in the French-Speaking World: Cultures

Provides detailed information on the occurrence of social conflict in France from the end of the Middle Ages to the 19th century; 16th to 19th century England, medieval Italy, and many more. The website, which was realised with the support of the Digital Cluster at University of Caen-Normandy, currently contains more than 20,000 episodes of social conflicts, such as food riots, fiscal riots, religious conflicts, and conflict against state authorities. It includes all the data collected by Jean Nicolas, with the support of numerous of French historians, in his masterwork on French rebellion: La Rébellion française, Mouvements populaires et conscience sociale (1661-1789).

Gathered directly from the streets, the Mai ’68 Collection is a compulsive record of that inflammatory era, a vivid collection of primary source material which documents the insurrection in a mixture of printed agitprop and large numbers of striking black and white prints. Other material, which pre-dates the clashes, helps frame the protestors’ acts. Events leading up to the unrest in Nantes, Paris and across France are included in the form of leaflets and handouts detailing problems with universities and criticism of the higher education system. There are printed papers from student and workers’ unions as well as political organisations. Just search "Mai '68 collection."

La bibliothèque numérique francophone rassemble et présente un fonds documentaire représentatif de toute la richesse culturelle et historique du monde francophone. Elle concrétise la volonté commune des bibliothèque réunies au sein du Réseau Francophone Numérique.

Revolutionary Papers is a transnational research collaboration exploring 20th century periodicals of Left, anti-imperial and anti-colonial critical production.

The Museum seeks to promote recognition of the history and contributions made by immigration. Its collections offer primary sources from important moments from both global and personal histories of various migrations to France.

Sélection des titres de presse des régions d'Outre-mer disponibles sur Gallica.

Découvrez sur cette page les collections sur les collectivités et territoires d'outre-mer français, hors départements et régions ultramarins.

Découvrez comment Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) accroît l'accès au contenu autochtone dans sa collection et aide les collectivités autochtones à préserver les cultures et les langues des Premières Nations, des Inuit et de la Nation Métisse.

Le Musée canadien de l'histoire présente une ressource extraordinaire documentant l'histoire et la culture des peuples autochtones du Canada.

Provides direct or indirect access to a vast number of archival materials in national, regional, or municipal archives throughout France and overseas departments and territories. Resources are browsable by geographic region or material type and include parish registers, marriage records, photographs, urban planning documents, maps, etc.

Links to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history.

Explorez les collections et fonds d'archives qui constituent la mémoire du Québec et témoignent de son dynamisme culturel et social.

La bibliothèque du réseau francophone numérique regroupe des collections patrimoniales de onze bibliothèques de Belgique, Suisse, Luxembourg, France, Canada, Maroc, Sénégal, Côte d’Ivoire, Madagascar, Haïti, Egypte pour la découverte, l’étude et l’apprentissage de 300 millions de francophones.