Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Routledge Handbook of Critical CriminologyCall Number: HV 6025 .R677 2012"Its diverse essays not only cover the history of critical criminology and cutting edge theories, but also the variety of research methods used by leading scholars in the field and the rich data generated by their rigorous empirical work."
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal JusticeCall Number: Online and in print: Ref. HV 6017 .E5297 2014Up-to-date and comprehensive, this five volume encyclopedia covers a wide range of topics including criminal law, juvenile justice, transnational crime, and homeland security as well as theory and research from criminal justice and related fields. Contributors from several countries provide an international perspective.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online versions of general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- CQ Press Political Reference SuiteIncludes the Washington Information Directory, which lists federal agencies and non-profit organizations on a wide variety of issues, such as law and justice.
Reports
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowIncludes CRS Reports, along with hearings and other materials. The CRS Reports provide brief summaries (30-50 pages) ona wide variety of topics related to pending legislation.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowContains short reports on current issues which include bibliographies.
- Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowElectronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School, searchable by keyword or by topic, including general U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, and news items drawn from various news sources.
- National Institute of JusticeReports and publications produced by the agency cover the areas of policing, justice systems, forensic science, counterterrorism, crime prevention, victimization, durgs, and communications sharing.
- Prison Policy Initiative - ReportsPolicy reports on prisons, mass incarceration, and related issues produced by the non-profit, non-partisan Prison Policy Initiative (PPI) PPI produces research to support advocacy for a more just society.
- Gun Regulation & Legislation in AmericaCompilation of laws, law journals, and related legal materials on gun regulation and legislation.
Dissertations & Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProQuest database providing the electronic equivalent of Dissertation Abstracts International. Beginning with the first U.S. dissertation in 1861, represents the work of authors from North American and European universities on a full range of academic subjects. Indexes and provides access to Georgetown-authored theses and dissertations.
- Dissertations & Theses (Georgetown-authored) This link opens in a new windowRecent online theses and dissertations from selected Georgetown programs and departments. For access to Georgetown theses and dissertations authored prior to 2006, see the Georgetown catalog or refer to ProQuest's Dissertations & Theses database. Print copies of disserations may be requested using the Library's Library Use Only Materials Request..
