Criminal Justice

Main page for the Bureau of Justice Statistics at the U.S. Department of Justice. A good starting point for searching all kinds of crime data and research.

Issued annually, this report provides statistics on number of executions, along with prisoner profile data and characteristics.

Summary data on corrections statistics along with links to other datasets and publications that offer information such as incarceration rate, inmates, and facilities.

Statistics on crimes reported by local law enforcement agencies to the FBI (Uniform Crime Reports). Some of the categories included are homicide, robbery, motor vehicle theft and arson.

Bias-motivated criminal incidents in each of the states are reported in this report.

A Congressional Research Service Report which compares federal programs for collecting crime data (the Uniform Crime Reports, the National Incident-Based Reporting System, and the National Crime Victimization Survey) and explores their limitations.

Presents summary findings, data collection and surveys, publications, and related links.

Statistics on types of crime and victimization that occur in schools. Earlier years available.

"NIJ's Mapping and Analysis for Public Safety (MAPS) program supports research that helps agencies use GIS to enhance public safety. The program examines:

How to use maps to analyze crime.
How to analyze spatial data.
How maps can help researchers evaluate programs and policies.
How to develop mapping, data sharing and spatial analysis tools."

Co-sponsored by the U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics, the ICPSR, and the National Institute of Justice, the NACJD website provides free, downloadable access to hundreds of data collections for research and instruction.

Data on all aspects of crime is gathered from approximately 200 public and private sources. Tables include statistics covering types of offenses, judicial processing and the corrections population.

A well indexed, comprehensive collection of statistics in tabular format. Includes basic statistics for a wide range of economic indicators. The index leads to specific table numbers. Each table lists the source of the statistics for further reference.

This report, issued annually, covers world regions and countries, and provides data on seizures and arrests, consumption and users.

The UNODC is involved in many activities, from helping States fight against human trafficking and recovering stolen assets, to reducing supply and demand for drugs, preventing terrorism, and stopping the spread of HIV/AIDS.