Your Librarian
Sharon Clayton
She/Her/They
Contact:
Lauinger Library
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
202-687-7467
Get Answers
Why Cite?
The primary reasons for citing sources when presenting research are:
- to give credit to the authors whose work you have drawn upon, and
- to allow readers to track down your sources, should they wish to do so.
There are many style guides for formatting citations and creating bibliographies. The major styles are:
- MLA Style, from the Modern Language Association;
- APA Style, from the American Psychological Association, and
- Chicago Style, from the University of Chicago Press
Citation Formatting Help
Use these resources to get help Formatting Citations.
If the citation style you need to use is not covered by one of these tools, please email the Mathematics & Statistics Librarian for Assistance
-
Purdue OWLUse for APA & MLA Style.
Purdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab)is recommended as a guide to MLA, APA. It also provides advice on research, writing, document formatting, and avoiding plagiarism. -
How To Cite Data (MSU Library)A concise page with helpful tips on citing your data and examples from three official style guides (APA, MLA, and Chicago). Includes information about how to cite tables, datasets, and citing within text. From Michigan State University Libraries.
-
Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new windowElectronic version of one of the most used style guides for writing in American English. Provides rules and suggestions for bibliographies and other forms of documentation such as parenthetical references, footnotes, and endnotes. Includes instructions on how to cite electronic and online sources. Also contains a chapter on grammar and usage (punctuation, spelling, etc.).
-
American Mathematical Society Style GuideThe AMA Style is often used in Computer Science publications
-
IEEE Citation Style GuideThis is a PDF guide to the IEEE Citation Style, frequently used in Computer Science
Citation Management Systems
These tools allow you to gather citations and PDFs in one place and then quickly create a bibliography. You have to start using them well before your paper is due, however.
-
How to Guide for ZoteroThis is the Library's Guide to using Zotero
-
Zotero LinkZotero is a free tool designed to help you gather, manage and share information about books, articles, web pages and other digital objects that you are using in your research, and to generate citations and bibliographies. Zotero is a Mozilla browser plugin. You can choose to gather your data on your hard drive (if you are working mainly from one computer), or on a flash drive or a network (if you frequently access your data at multiple workstations).
-
RefWorks This link opens in a new windowRefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers gather, manage, store, and share information and generate citations and bibliographies.
-
Endnote Guide via Clarivate Web of ScienceEndNote is a Citation Manager, Subscribed for you by Georgetown. It is accessed through Clarivate's Web of Science. This link takes you to instructions for accessing it.
Document Prep - TeX and LaTex
"TeX is a technical typesetting system. It is well suited to typesetting mathematics and other technical texts and can handle many languages." ~ Mathematics & Statistics Department at Georgetown
LaTeX is a "dialect" of TeX that is potentially easier to use.
There are various ways to access TeX & LaTeX.
Here are some resources available at Georgetown.
-
More Math into LaTeX
by
ISBN: 9783319237961Publication Date: 2016-02-15Guide to Downloading & Using LaTeX - this comprehensive manual has been the standard introduction and complete reference for writing articles and books containing mathematical formulas. If the reader requires a streamlined approach to learning LaTeX for composing everyday documents, Grätzer's © 2014 Practical LaTeX may also be a good choice. In this carefully revised fifth edition, the Short Course has been brought up to date and reflects a modern and practical approach to LaTeX usage. New chapters have been added on illustrations and how to use LaTeX on an iPad. Key features: An example-based, visual approach and a gentle introduction with the Short Course A detailed exposition of multiline math formulas with a Visual Guide A unified approach to TeX, LaTeX, and the AMS enhancements A quick introduction to creating presentations with formulas From earlier reviews: Grätzer's book is a solution. --European Mathematical Society Newsletter There are several LaTeX guides, but this one wins hands down for the elegance of its approach and breadth of coverage. --Amazon.com, Best of 2000, Editor's choice A novice reader will be able to learn the most essential features of LaTeX sufficient to begin typesetting papers within a few hours of time... An experienced TeX user, on the other hand, will find a systematic and detailed discussion of LaTeX fea tures. --Report on Mathematical Physics A very helpful and useful tool for all scientists and engineers. --Review of Astronomical Tools
-
MiKTeX - including TeXworks - On Library ComputersMiKTeX is an open-source distribution of the TeX/LaTex typesetting system for Microsoft Windows
This link takes you to info on accessing MiKTeX at Georgetown, with a list of library computers that have this software available -
LaTeX Templates for Theses & DissertationsThis link Takes you to info on Templates for theses and dissertations - scroll down to the section on LaTex - and you can download templates that you use with LaTex. You have to access LaTeX separately - this is just a template to use with it. Use the other links for more info.
-
TeX - Mathematics & Statistics DocumentationThis page from the Mathematics & Statistics Department at Georgetown. It provides information on accessing and using TeX - It has a link to info about LaTex - but it currently does not work. See the Links to the Book on LaTex Above
