Head of Research Services
Sharon Clayton
She/Her/They
Contact:
Lauinger Library
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
For research consultations or reference questions, please email me.
202-687-7467
Get Answers
Best Bets
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, click on Settings and then on Library Links. Type Georgetown in the search box.)
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCumulates five databases:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it. - Springer Nature Link Computer Science Collection This link opens in a new windowOnline access to Springer journals, books, and reference works in Computer Science.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new windowAn electronic collection of over 40,000 computer-related technical books, plus videos, learning paths, and O'Reilly Conference videos. Topics range from desktop application software to network engineering and from application to theory. Publishers included are O'Reilly, Sams, Peachpit Press, New Riders, Microsoft Press, Cisco Press, Adobe Press, Addison-Wesley and others. Access is limited to current Georgetown University students, faculty, and staff.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to citations and full-text content of books, journal articles, reports, dissertations, and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new windowAn archive for electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, and quantitative finance.
- Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new windowContains full-text monographs in computer science covering subjects such as Artificial Intelligence and Robotics, Computer Communication Networks, Software Engineering , Data Encryption, Database Management, Computation by Abstract Devices, and Algorithm Analysis and Problem Complexity. Access to the contemporary content is available.
