Tips for getting the Full Text Fast
- Tip #1 - Access Resources THROUGH Lauinger Library
You may be used to accessing things through your bookmarks, Google, or another tool, but then that site may not be able to tell you are at Georgetown, so you hit paywalls. When you go to a database or resource through a link from the library's webpages - like this Guide - our Proxy software kicks in, so it knows you are from Georgetown.
- You get access to the full text we subscribe to
- For things we don't have - you get an InterLibrary Loan Button that allows you to request the item, without typing in the citation yourself.
- ILL Articles usually come in 24 hours, and some may come as quickly as 4-12 hours
- Tip #2 - Use the
button when you are in a database
Most Georgetown databases have this button under each article in the results list, if the PDF is not directly linked. You can click on it and it will go thru Hoya Search to figure out if we have a link, and if so give it to you. If we don't have a the PDF, it gives you a "Request via Interlibrary Loan" button which fills out the form for you. All you do is enter a "Needed By" date and Submit.
-
Tip #3- Lean Library Browser ExtensionWorks from any website - so, if you are NOT in a library database. It also works off campus, having this Extension means when on a website Lean Library detects if Georgetown has access to the content.
If we do - you get it!
If we don't - it gives you an ILL option AND fills in the form for you!
Click above to see how to download the extension.
Do Lean Library Pop Ups annoy you?
When you are not trying to get an article, you can easily pause LL in the menu bar of your browser, and then flip it back on when you are.
-
Tip #4 Google Scholar - Set it to GeorgetownYou can set Google Scholar to know you are a Georgetown Main Campus user and it will provide you with links to our Full Text and ILL options
Tip #5 - Try Hoya Search
Hoya Search includes much more than just Georgetown's holdings, so you can find things we don't have here too. If you search for something you've found on the web, but been unable to link to - if you search for the title in Hoya Search, it may come up. This allows you to use the ILL button that autofills the ILL form for you.
Step 1: Paste or Type the article title or book chapter title into the Hoya Search Box on the Library Homepage
Step 2. Put quotation marks at the beginning and end & Click Search
Step 3. If it comes up - Click on the title
Step 4. Check the options, and if there is no viewing option - Sign in & then choose the ILL option - the form will be filled out
Step 5. Add the Date Needed by & Submit
When you want an ENTIRE book:
- EBOOKS - If Georgetown owns the Book as an Ebook - using the library catalog or the Tips on the previous tab should allow you access
- Print Books - Databases, Lean Library, and Find FT at GU - may not be able to figure out that we have it. If you unable to link from where you are at - follow these steps to see if we have the Book:
- Copy the Title of the Book onto your clip board
- Go to the Hoya Search box at the top of the Library Webpage
- Paste in the title - and put quotation marks around it
- Search
- If it does not come up - Click "Add Results Beyond GU"
- Options - If Georgetown does not own the book - Sign in to Hoya Search to see these options:
- WRLC Consortial Loan - Click on the Consortial Loan Option -These come in 2-3 days
- ILL a Chapter - You can only do this with one chapter. Pick the Chapter you need most. Look the chapter title up in Hoya Search, if it comes up, sign in and click the Interlibrary loan Option
- If the chapter does not come up in Hoya Search, you can request it by going to the main Interlibrary Loan page - Choose "New Request" from the Menu bar, choose the Book Chapter from that list. Fill out the form.
- That chapter will come in around 24hrs and you can start reading. Then put in an ILL request for the entire book - and that will come in an average of 5-10 days
- ILL the Whole Book - In Hoya Search If it is not available as a WRLC Consortial Loan, Click the regular Interlibrary loan Option
- Possible Purchase - Check with your Professor to see if it is something that they would recommend the library purchase. If they send me the request and give your name, we can often get it quickly and place it on hold for you. If it is available as an Ebook, it may only take a few days. NOTE: This does not work for required course textbooks.
Email Me!
Sharon Clayton ~ sc2520@georgetown.edu
Email me and I will trouble shoot and get back to you with the best strategy or sometimes with a link to the PDF.
Contact The Electronic Resources & Serials Unit
This is particularly useful if you have clicked on a link that is supposed to lead to the resource, and it does not.
Request it via ILL
Even if we are supposed to have it, you can request it via ILL directly - some ILL happens automatically - so this may be the fastest route, instead of waiting for a human to get your email and investigate. You should still report the broken link. Putting in the ILL request may just get you the article faster. If you don't have a "Request via Interlibrary Loan" option for the item, you can request anything directly via ILL From the ILL for Main Campus Patrons Link on our website. Just log in with your NetID and then from the top menu choose New Requests - choose the format (Article, Book, Book Chapter, etc.) and then fill out the form. For this method you do need to fill out the form.
DO All 3!
If you really need the item fast - your best bet is to do all 3 of these : )
