Guides: Psychology: Getting Started ~ Databases

Key Psychology Databases

PsycINFO on Ovid
The primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
PubMed
Free (non-subscription) access to the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Web of Science
Web of Science covers all topics, including Psychology. It has special features that allow you to trace connections between studies - not just who cites who - but also studies that share citations in common. It is great for building on your PsycInfo results.
Google Scholar

Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, click on Settings and then on Library Links. Type Georgetown in the search box.)

Annual Review of Psychology
Comprehensive and timely critical reviews of the most significant primary research literature for psychology. Written by leading scientists, Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited publications in the scientific literature

Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Indexes materials relating to the growth and development of children through the age of 21. Included are book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals, and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations that cover the biomedical and social sciences worldwide. Over 10,000 new records added each year. Based on Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography for 1927-2001 by the Society for Research in Child Development.

HaPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments)
Available through Dahlgren Memorial Library, this has articles and information on measurement instruments. Limited to DML users only.

SAGE Research Methods
This database provides information and setps for most of the qualitative and quantitative research methods used in Psychology. It provides info on methodologies and also provides case studies.
Not all cases and datasets are included in Georgetown's subscription.

Sage Research Methods includes:
Sage Research Methods: Foundations - brief but expert introductions to hundreds of research methods.
Sage Research Methods: Cases - 2,000 case studies of real research projects*
Sage Research Methods: Datasets - 500 datasets offering hands-on practice of methods and techniques*
*Not all cases and datasets are included in Georgetown's subscription.

Databases in related disciplines

For Studies on Psychology AND ....

Art

Art Full Text
For Pscyhology & Art - this database will have some articles from Art Journals on things like Art Therapy, the relationship between creativity and mental health, and other psychology topics

Communication

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields -- including the psychology of communication

Education

ERIC (via ed.gov)
Search ERIC for articles, books, papers, reports, and other materials on education topics, such as teaching, pedagogy, curriculum, bilingual education, counseling, policy, theory, and subjects of instruction. Many ERIC documents (identified with an ED number) are available full-text within ERIC.

Gender

Archives of Sexuality & Gender
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. These will include sources relevant to the Psychology of Gender
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Primary source documents on women's suffrage, feminism, gender history, and more from the late 1800s to early 2000s, digitized from several libraries in the UK, USA, Canada, and Australia.
Gender Studies Database
Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.

Literature

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes research in literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theatre in all Modern Languages. This includes Psychoanalytic criticism in all those areas including film, tv & theatree

Social Sciences

Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
Sociological Abstracts
A primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Based on an international selection of journals and other serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Includes book, film and software reviews. Major areas of coverage include anthropology, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies and violence.

Psychology

Your Librarian

Get Answers

HoyaSearch: Find Journals

Key Psychology Databases

Databases in related disciplines

How to Read Scholarly Journal Articles