Guides: International Business and Policy: International Policy

Country Specific Reports/Profiles

Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. This growing database is the world’s largest directory of policy organizations representing nearly 24,000 organizations and over 3 million publications.
FitchConnect This link opens in a new window
FitchConnect integrates country risk, analysis of financial markets, and industry research, providing users with a variety of company and industry information including credit research, credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, Financial Implied Ratings, and a curated news service.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring institution.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
Conference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.
Political Risk Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Each country analysis provides forecast summaries for the country, economic performance, social indicators, general business climate, and eighteen-month and five-year political and economic forecasts. Annual.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Contains books, journals, newsletters, statistical periodicals, reference works, and interactive statistical data tables in over 25 database products published since 1998. Text can be searched by theme or country. Statistics can be searched by title and theme. Statistical databases allow users to build their own tables from the latest data, draw graphs and tables, and download to Excel or as .csv files.
World Development Reports This link opens in a new window
This key World Bank publication offers recent statistics and narrative on topics relating to developing countries.
1978-present available online; Latest print version is at the Reference Desk HC 59 .W6; earlier years (back to 1978) in stacks at HC 59. W6.
World News Digest This link opens in a new window
From Facts on File. Covers U.S. and world news from 1940 to the present.
Keesing's World News Archive This link opens in a new window
(Coverage 1931-2015): Web-based version of the index to Keesing's Record of World Events. This is an authoritative monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs since 1931.
Topics cover constitution and governance, legislation, economics, politics, foreign relations, elections, legal issues, social issues, disarmament and rearmament, terrorism, human rights, war, disasters, the environment, and science and technology.

Articles

International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
An abstract of periodical articles on political science, government, international relations, and area studies. Indexes more than 1,000 international journals. The printed version (1951-1997) is available.
IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Freely available as of Jan 2020.
Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) This link opens in a new window
The Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is the official open access repository for research outputs and knowledge products from the World Bank.
It includes:

- World Bank Group Annual Reports and Independent Evaluation Studies
- Books published by the World Bank Group including flagship publications, academic books and practitioner volumes;
- All World Development Reports (WDRs) plus recent WDR background papers;
- Journal articles published in World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO);
- Accepted manuscripts of Bank-authored journal articles from selected external publishers (after an embargo period if applicable);
- Metadata and links to Bank-authored external journal articles;
- Serial publications (typically data-intensive outlook reports);
- Policy Research Working Papers (PRWP)—a series of papers that disseminate findings of work in progress in order to encourage the exchange of ideas about development issues;
- Selected other papers of high research quality;
- Economic and Sector Work (ESW) studies—a series of analytical reports prepared by Bank staff. ESWs gather and evaluate information about a country’s economy and/or a specific sector;
- Knowledge Notes, providing short briefs that capture lessons of experience from Bank operations and research;
- The latest Country Opinion Surveys done in client countries for feedback on World Bank Group activities.
- Selected translated titles.

Economics Encyclopedias

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online This link opens in a new window
Designed for economists, this encyclopedia's articles read like those in economics journals. This is a continuously updated edition. It retains the descriptions of economic methods from earlier editions and adds more information on the findings of those methods. It also offers a new emphasis on advances in microeconomics, Bayesian theory, game theory and behavioral, international and experimental economics.

The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics
One of the most popular worldwide resources for researching and understanding topics in economics. Also featured in the CEE are over 80 biographies of famous economists, with summaries of their contributions, links to their works, and and secondary resources.