Public Policy Librarian
Get Answers
Welcome
This guide is intended to provide a starting point to library and online resources you'll need to create a well-researched project on Environmental Policy. Sources include reference books, subject databases that aggregate academic journals, images, government reports and data, and more. If you have questions about how to access this information or need assistance putting together a research plan, please contact your environmental policy subject librarian.
Best Bets
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive coverage on environment-related subjects, from ecosystem ecology and renewable energy sources to environmental law and public policy. Contains full text for 950 journals, including many of the most used in the discipline, such as Environment, Ecologist, or Conservation Biology.
- JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new windowJSTOR Sustainability brings together 150 journals and 5,000 research reports on the environment, energy, ecology, urban planning, infrastructure, land management, and more. The collection can be searched on its own or through the JSTOR general portal.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes otherwise hard to obtain research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the homepages and electronic mail addresses of the authoring institution.
- U.S. Environmental Protection AgencyInformation about Agency history, mission, projects, laws and regulations, budget, publications, news, and more.
- European Environment AgencyLike the U.S. EPA, the EEA is the official environmental agency of the European Union. The web site provides documents, news, links to other sites and more.
- HoyaSearch This link opens in a new windowHoyaSearch is the GU Library's discovery layer and catalog. HoyaSearch data comes from Georgetown and WRLC Consortium holdings, many of the Georgetown databases, and a variety of other resources. You can find books, journal and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, images and media, and primary sources in HoyaSearch.
Introductory Video
The National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA): Environmental policy began in 1970 under President Nixon with the establishment of the EPA and the passage of the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA). NEPA requires federal agencies to assess the environmental effects of proposed actions prior to making decisions. When a company wants to build a pipeline, road or other infrastructure, federal agencies are required to review the project's environmental impact. But how does NEPA work?
