Construction Program Management by Joseph DelaneyAlthough construction is one of the largest industries in the United States, it lags behind other industries in its implementation of modern management techniques such as those contained in the Standard for Program Management (the Standard) by the Project Management Institute (PMI®). Construction Program Managementdetails the successful use of the PMI®approach for the construction of capital programs. It demonstrates, through case studies, how implementation of PMI's set of tools and techniques can improve the chances of program success. Exploring tactical and strategic management methods, the book outlines a structured, process-based approach to construction program management that leverages structure to bring order to what can otherwise feel like an overwhelming challenge. The opening chapter focuses on basic definitions of project management and program management--highlighting their similarities and differences. A summary review of the Standard describes how these management concepts can be applied to capital construction programs. Explains how to apply the principles of PMI®'s Standard for Program Managementto construction programs Describes the difference between leadership (strategic) and management (tactical) skills Compares and contrasts the program management principles included in the PMI®Body of Knowledge with those of the Construction Management Association of America (CMAA®) Through the use of case studies this book provides students, practitioners, and stakeholders with a guided tour through each phase of the program management life cycle. Using language that is easy to understand, the book shows that with the right team, the right leader, and the proper implementation of the steps outlined, all programs can obtain true success.
ISBN: 9781466575042
Publication Date: 2013
Project Scheduling and Management for Construction by David R. PierceFirst published in 1988 by RS Means, the new edition of Project Scheduling and Management for Construction has been substantially revised for students enrolled in construction management and civil engineering programs. While retaining its emphasis on developing practical, professional-level scheduling skills, the new edition is a relatable, real-world case study that can be used over the course of a semester. The book also includes classroom elements like exercises, quizzes, skill-building exercises, as well as an instructor's manual including two additional new cases.
ISBN: 9781118420560
Publication Date: 2013
Managing the Profitable Construction Business by Thomas C. Schleifer; John M. Murdough; Kenneth T. SullivanTake control of your construction contracting business and manage it through the natural highs and lows of the construction market. Learn from a team of construction business veterans led by Thomas C. Schleifer, who is commonly referred to as a construction business "turnaround" expert due to the number of construction companies he has rescued from financial distress. His financial acumen, combined with his practical, hands-on experience, has made him a sought-after private consultant. His experience and no-nonsense philosophy have truly given him a unique perspective. Important topics covered include: Understanding the primary areas of construction business failure in the next decade Minimizing business risk with real-world examples Developing a positive and competent management attitude and strategy Discover how to maneuver through this complicated and risky industry by using the authors' research and proven success strategies to sustain and grow your business.
ISBN: 9781118836941
Publication Date: 2014
Managing Risk in Construction Projects by Nigel J. Smith; Paul Jobling; Tony MernaInvestment in any new project invariably carries risk but the construction industry is subject to more risk and uncertainty than perhaps any other industry. This guide for construction managers, project managers and quantity surveyors as well as for students shows how the risk management process improves decision-making. Managing Risk in Construction Projects offers practical guidance on identifying, assessing and managing risk and provides a sound basis for effective decision-making in conditions of uncertainty. The book focuses on theoretical aspects of risk management but also clarifies procedures for undertaking and utilising decisions. This blend of theory and practice is the real message of the book and, with a strong authorship team of practitioners and leading academics, the book provides an authoritative guide for practitioners having to manage real projects. It discusses a number of general concepts, including projects, project phases, and risk attitude before introducing various risk management techniques. This third edition has been extended to recognize the reality of multi-project or programme management and the risks in this context; to highlight the particular problems of risk in international joint ventures; and to provide more coverage of PFI and PPP. With case studies and examples of good practice, the book offers the distilled knowledge of over 100 man-years of experience in working on all aspects of project risk, giving sound practical guidance on identifying, assessing and managing risk.
Construction Program Management by
Although construction is one of the largest industries in the United States, it lags behind other industries in its implementation of modern management techniques such as those contained in the Standard for Program Management (the Standard) by the Project Management Institute (PMI®). Construction Program Managementdetails the successful use of the PMI®approach for the construction of capital programs. It demonstrates, through case studies, how implementation of PMI's set of tools and techniques can improve the chances of program success. Exploring tactical and strategic management methods, the book outlines a structured, process-based approach to construction program management that leverages structure to bring order to what can otherwise feel like an overwhelming challenge. The opening chapter focuses on basic definitions of project management and program management--highlighting their similarities and differences. A summary review of the Standard describes how these management concepts can be applied to capital construction programs. Explains how to apply the principles of PMI®'s Standard for Program Managementto construction programs Describes the difference between leadership (strategic) and management (tactical) skills Compares and contrasts the program management principles included in the PMI®Body of Knowledge with those of the Construction Management Association of America (CMAA®) Through the use of case studies this book provides students, practitioners, and stakeholders with a guided tour through each phase of the program management life cycle. Using language that is easy to understand, the book shows that with the right team, the right leader, and the proper implementation of the steps outlined, all programs can obtain true success.
ISBN: 9781466575042Publication Date: 2013
Project Scheduling and Management for Construction by
First published in 1988 by RS Means, the new edition of Project Scheduling and Management for Construction has been substantially revised for students enrolled in construction management and civil engineering programs. While retaining its emphasis on developing practical, professional-level scheduling skills, the new edition is a relatable, real-world case study that can be used over the course of a semester. The book also includes classroom elements like exercises, quizzes, skill-building exercises, as well as an instructor's manual including two additional new cases.
ISBN: 9781118420560Publication Date: 2013
Managing the Profitable Construction Business by
Take control of your construction contracting business and manage it through the natural highs and lows of the construction market. Learn from a team of construction business veterans led by Thomas C. Schleifer, who is commonly referred to as a construction business "turnaround" expert due to the number of construction companies he has rescued from financial distress. His financial acumen, combined with his practical, hands-on experience, has made him a sought-after private consultant. His experience and no-nonsense philosophy have truly given him a unique perspective. Important topics covered include: Understanding the primary areas of construction business failure in the next decade Minimizing business risk with real-world examples Developing a positive and competent management attitude and strategy Discover how to maneuver through this complicated and risky industry by using the authors' research and proven success strategies to sustain and grow your business.
ISBN: 9781118836941Publication Date: 2014
Managing Risk in Construction Projects by
Investment in any new project invariably carries risk but the construction industry is subject to more risk and uncertainty than perhaps any other industry. This guide for construction managers, project managers and quantity surveyors as well as for students shows how the risk management process improves decision-making. Managing Risk in Construction Projects offers practical guidance on identifying, assessing and managing risk and provides a sound basis for effective decision-making in conditions of uncertainty. The book focuses on theoretical aspects of risk management but also clarifies procedures for undertaking and utilising decisions. This blend of theory and practice is the real message of the book and, with a strong authorship team of practitioners and leading academics, the book provides an authoritative guide for practitioners having to manage real projects. It discusses a number of general concepts, including projects, project phases, and risk attitude before introducing various risk management techniques. This third edition has been extended to recognize the reality of multi-project or programme management and the risks in this context; to highlight the particular problems of risk in international joint ventures; and to provide more coverage of PFI and PPP. With case studies and examples of good practice, the book offers the distilled knowledge of over 100 man-years of experience in working on all aspects of project risk, giving sound practical guidance on identifying, assessing and managing risk.
ISBN: 9781118347232Publication Date: 2014
Square foot costs with RSMeans data 2019 by Call Number: TH435 .M44 2019ISBN: 9781946872685Publication Date: 2018
Green building costs with RSMeans data 2019 by Call Number: TH880.R75 2019ISBN: 9781946872586Publication Date: 2018
2019 Commercial renovation costs with RSMeans data. by Call Number: TH3411 .R6a 2019ISBN: 9781946872524Publication Date: 2018
