Guides: Consumer Behavior &amp; Psychographic Research: Consumer Behavior Resources

Consumer Behavior Data

MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
Limited to 10 concurrent users.

Allows users to explore U.S. buying habits based on demographics, psychographics, media preferences and other criteria. An extension of Simmons Survey of Media and Markets National Consumer Study, the marketing data were collected from more than 22,000 households, then projected to reflect the general population.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Users must create a free Mintel account in order to download executive summaries create custom PowerPoint slides of report content.
These market research reports of 100+ pages in length cover such subjects as travel, finance, food, drink, health, retailing, airlines, and lifestyles. Reports cover the United States - reports on internationally-focused reports are not available. Data sources used come from Mintel's own surveys, Simmons, Infoscan's IRI, and trade research. Acceptance of 'Academic Conditions of Use' and registration are required to use this database.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries

International Consumer Behavior Data

Passport This link opens in a new window
formerly Global Market Information Database
Global in scope, Euromonitor's Passport provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts. Details include expenditure patterns, viewing time per medium and demographics. Use the search box in the upper left corner to find an industry.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Compilation of questions and responses from more than 12,000 national, state, local and special surveys. Includes polling from the U.S. and abroad.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries

Surveys and Indices

Consumer Behavior Research Articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Titles include Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review and Administrative Science Quarterly.
ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
PsycINFO on Ovid This link opens in a new window
The primary index to the literature of psychology and its related fields. Since 1887 covers journal articles, and since 1987, books and book chapters. International in scope, topics include psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.